Auto Insurance In Michigan
The Detroit-Windsor Tunnel, finished in 1930, stretches for nearly a mile, and handles up to 29,000 vehicles every day. Cars are, of course, important to Michigan, and Detroit – the Motor City – is the car capital of the world. Outside of Motown, there are wonderful roads that will take you through places like Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Lansing, Flint, Kalamazoo, Troy and Warren, tucked between the Great Lakes. In fact, nowhere in Michigan is further than 85 miles from water. But no matter where you go, be sure your vehicles are covered by the right auto insurance for the state of Michigan. Get a Michigan car insurance quote with GEICO.
Winter Driving In Michigan
Due to its location around Lake Michigan, Michigan winters bring a lot of snow. It's important to be sure you drive carefully during inclement weather. Your car should be prepared and properly winterized and contain the essential items to keep you safe. Tire chains and studded tires are legal in Michigan, but carry certain restrictions that may be hard for the average driver to meet. Your best bet is to equip your car with a good set of winter tires.
Michigan Car Insurance Coverage
The minimum requirements for car insurance in Michigan are:
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability Coverage: $10,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident*
Property Protection: $1 million
Personal Injury Protection: Unlimited with a $0, $300 or $500 deductible.
*This is rejectable in writing.
Planning to Travel to Canada?
Driving between Michigan and Canada is allowed through four border crossings. If you plan to cross the border, you'll need a U.S. Passport, U.S. Passport Card or an Enhanced Driver's License (EDL). EDLs cost $45, and can be obtained directly from the Michigan Secretary of State's office. An EDL will allow you to cross the border without needing a passport. Be sure you also have your insurance ID card with you – your GEICO insurance ID cards will be sufficient proof of insurance in Canada.
Teen Drivers In Michigan
Michigan teens looking to get their driver's licenses should become familiar with Michigan’s teen driving laws. Teen drivers who have completed the first segment of driver's education can get a Level 1 Learner's License at age 14 years, 9 months. After driving for six months with at least 50 supervised hours (10 of which at night), teens can get a Level 2 Intermediate License. When on a Michigan Level 2 license, the driver cannot drive between 10:00 p.m. and 5 a.m. and with no more than one passenger younger than 21 (except family members). All restrictions are lifted at age 17 when the Level 2 Intermediate License turns into a Level 3 Full License for qualified drivers.