GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,219 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
Rates are too high, and bad customer service

By Melx4naltamonte on August 06, 2018 policyholder claim

would not accomodate a payment plan for just 1 week
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By Kcmom on July 20, 2018 policyholder claim

I went from having a fair amount of coverage to an outrageous amount. This amount is higher than the carpayment itself. Insurance is supposed to put your mind at ease not stress you out. This is not even the best of coverage and it's extremely expensive.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
Terrible Service, NOT knowledgable

By NotCool on July 02, 2018 policyholder claim

While house sitting for my mom we used her vehicles to get around. The keys got locked in the car and we had no spare. I have full coverage on two of my own personal vehicles and roadside assistance. When calling to ask if I could receive the roadside assistance for my mother's vehicle I was told I could but they would a verbal confirmation from her as the vehicle owner. I explained that I did NOT WANT HER TO KNOW but they said I couldn't receive the service without. So I call my mo on 3-way and explain to her the situation and she gives her approval ONLY to find out that I wasn't going to be able to receive the service because she was not insured through Geico(which I had allready explained). I called their insurance State Farm who were super easy, helpful, and gave fast service with NO bother to my parents WHO DIDN'T need to know at all. P.S. Nickname requirement at the end made this review harder to leave. NO numbers or letters or spaces, already in use... >:/
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
i had questions about a quote on renters insurance

By quintin on July 01, 2018 policyholder claim

I called to as questions about a quote on rental insurance to add to my auto insurance the person{guy) was very rude to me
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Pushy customer service

By Plumbus29 on June 26, 2018 policyholder claim

If calling about a quote, representatives at Geico will pressure you beyond belief to pay them everything right then and there. It is very annoying and makes me want nothing to do with the company. Also, after shopping around, many other companies were much cheaper, even with bundling different forms of insurance.
  • Gender: MAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
My Premium is always increasing

By EmptyPockets on June 26, 2018 policyholder

My Premium goes up, I din't even file claims, haven't been in an accident or gotten pulled over. Was told bundling would make it cheaper but now I don't think so.
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Claims and Inspection Process

By SC91313 on June 14, 2018 policyholder claim

I've had by far the worst experience with my most recent claim I've been trying to schedule my 2nd inspection, between the adjusters "schedule" and the explanation process of what is expected is terrible. I was told I had to take my car to the shop and meet the adjuster for the supplement review? but turns out I could of taken my car to the shop and have them or myself send an invoice over? I am over this.. every collision claim with Geico is a headache all on it's own.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
Cannot get quote or update policy via website

By steveb4435 on June 03, 2018 policyholder

Geico overall has been great, but every time I try to quote or update my policy (eg, add a vehicle or change coverage) it says it cannot do it online and I must wait 24 hours to get a quote by email. This is not a good online experience.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Loyalty means nothing

By Holidayrose on May 17, 2018 policyholder claim

After 20 years of loyal service Geico has decided after 3 uninsured motorist accidents in the past 6 years to more than double my rates. we were not at fault in any of these accidents. I will never recommend Geico again ever.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Terrible Website

By carguru on May 12, 2018

Trying to add a vehicle, but since I cancelled a vehicle within the last 6 months there is no way to do this online. Access to everything is blocked unless I reopen insurance on a vehicle that was sold.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%