GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,093 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Poor customer service.

By bad2service on May 11, 2017 policyholder

Your customer service reps are poorly trained. They are not very professional on the phone and are certainly not knowledgable about their job. Would not recommend this company to anyone!!!
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Absolutely HORRIBLE SERVICE ON ALL FRONT

By Jazzy on May 01, 2017 policyholder

My policy rate keeps increasing every six months for absolutely NO valid reasons.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By W84ever2017 on April 27, 2017 policyholder

Pay extra each month for roadside assistant and for what good. It is supposed to give me peace of mind instead it gave me a headache. I understand things get held up but it was beyond customer service expectations, so unprofessional and disappointing. My first time running through an issue, I felt relieved that I could relay this trouble and it was the worst experience ever!!!!I was quoted 45 minutes, then 90 minutes..and on the dot of 90 minutes, I get told they will take 1 hr longer!!!!!that is a total of 3 hours!!!!!
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Hidden fees

By landcsf on April 11, 2017

Really disappointed because of hidden fees and poor customer service.
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Terrible online experience

By Kelrod on April 07, 2017 policyholder

I went online to make my payment that was due. I wanted to change coverage before I did so but there was no link to do this from the payments page I was on. I just went ahead and made the payment because it was due. Extremely disappointed!
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Inaccurate Quote Led to Wasted Time and Frustratio

By Frustrated40 on March 24, 2017 policyholder

Final price was 40% above original quote. After receiving a quote online and then over the phone from a sales agent, I made the decision to switch from my carrier of 25 years to Geico. During the quoting process, we discussed at length a recent accident which my daughter had (the reason our previous carrier had increased our rates). The sales agent could see the accident on his system and assured me that it would have little or no effect on the price after underwriting. However, after submitting paperwork on the accident our premium was raised by just over 40% nearly matching the quote from our previous insurer. It was a total waste of my time and energy to switch. Make sure to get an underwritten quote before switching.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Stay away

By jenembers on March 13, 2017 policyholder claim

Great for everything-except when you go to make a claim. Received very poor communication from the claims department. Have been told different coverage on every phone call. Very disappointed & will be moving carriers once this is resolved.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Way too expensive

By kaaaaaaaaaa on March 03, 2017 policyholder

This insurance company is way too expensive. I haven't had an accident in over 5 years and the premium still wont go down!

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

insurance over priced

By ayah on February 23, 2017 policyholder claim

horrible prices,, I cannot get other quotes because if you are fault or not they consider it under you and when you try to get other insurance they list all accidents as your fault .. and you cannot find lower insurance very unfair .. you are locked in with geico

Saved $1 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Bad Customer Support

By on February 22, 2017 policyholder claim

While disappointed in the rate increase and discussing it with an agent, when I asked to speak to his boss, he hung up on me.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service