GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,093 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Customer Service for online users

By Sharijada on February 15, 2017 policyholder claim

What is the point of scheduling a future payment if it tries to take the money the second you hit the button. My pay is in on the 20th. But when I tried to schedule a payment for the 20th. You requested it from the bank as soon as I hit the button. Just another annoying thing with Geico. So I have to remember to do it on Monday because your stupid system won't let me do it now. Shari H.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

horrible customer service

By nursemk on February 10, 2017 policyholder

They charged me my 6 month premium without my authorization and knowledge. I called in to pay the 6 month premium and they informed me that it had already been paid. I never got an email or notification saying the amount was paid. The only reason I gave them my bank account information was because the geico agent said that they needed it to hold the new account being set up. I even made sure I would not be charged using that bank account because I knew there would not be sufficient funds. The supervisor and manager did not to anything to help me even though I had the inconvenience of calling back and forth between my bank and geico. Also, they did not do anything about the automatic payment without my authorization. They then, after I had resolved the overdraft issue, charged me my 6 month premium a second time which caused another overdraft. This was after I had paid my 6 month premium in full. I even told them to go back to that days recording of our conversation because I made sure I asked that my bank account would not be charged automatically. Very unprofessional and the agents are not properly trained.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

premiums keep increasing even for safe driving

By abluepelican on January 25, 2017 policyholder

every 6 months my premium went up a measly $2 a month. but it adds up...to $24 a year a reward for being a safe driver. also there is a convenience fee of $5 a month to have automatic withdrawals taken out of a checking account...another $60 a year.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Policy for existing customer terrible

By on January 04, 2017 policyholder

Your policy for increasing rates for existing customer who never claimed a single penny sucks.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Be aware

By nick99 on December 21, 2016 policyholder claim

On Mobil app I replaced the old car with a new one with out changing my existing coverage, few days later I got the statement with the extra coverages that I did not requested, when I called to cancel those coverages they charge me for few days that I had them on my police with out me knowing that there are exist. Be careful what you do on Geico Mobil app or your desktop, you might end up paying huge money for something that you didn't wanted but it was added to your police with out you knowing it.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By NotSoGoodForYou on December 12, 2016 policyholder claim

Claim's Department not attending to customers need .
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Credit based insurance rate

By Legquarters on December 06, 2016

I dont think my insurance rate should be based on my credit score.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By Letmedown on December 02, 2016 policyholder claim

Completely unreasonable and unexplainably bad decision making when it comes to at fault liability. Someone slams into my vehicle, breaks several traffic laws in the process, and when all is said and done, I'm paying for it despite my several years of customer loyalty. GEICO claims adjusters were unable to fight effectively and efficiently on my behalf in what should have been an easy claim.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Waited for over 4 hours for road side assitance

By NirB on November 23, 2016 policyholder claim

I was told it would take at most 90 mins, and got a confirmation number. After two hours I called and found out that due to a system problem Geico's call didn't reach the provider. They then reinitiated the call and told me at would take at most 60 mins. It took 130. Overall, I waited for more than two hours.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

not USER friendly Links cover info/cant see it!

By Notfriendly on November 19, 2016 policyholder claim

Links above cover the info Im trying to see. I can't pull up my ENTIRE payment history? The HYPERlinks are not connected to the information.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service