GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,219 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
worst website and service

By lovedthelizard on March 16, 2009 claim

Trying to get any assistance or guidance after an accident has been worse than pulling teeth.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Scam

By Nihar on February 18, 2009 policyholder

The GEICO advertisements does not hold any truth. Premium wise you are as bad as your competition. I am joining you for this 6 months to see your service.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: Not insured with GEICO
  • Pros: Good advertisement
  • Cons: False claims
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
rate went up

By cecilia on February 13, 2009

i just changed my address and how much i use the car.. my rate when down, now i go to pay my bill and they raised there rates and now its even higher then before.. very upset
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
claims

By geicolady on February 07, 2009 policyholder claim

adjusters don`t know how 2judge or keep u informed

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
  • Pros: costumer service answer`s the phone right away
  • Cons: Adjusters don`t know how to make the right decitions
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
Website is a mess

By kjgkhrekjr on January 29, 2009

The Geico website has no ability to allow you to quate buying a car. The website is full of bugs and simply doesn't work
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
e-service

By notrealname on January 26, 2009

Impossible to add new info online to exist. acct.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Pros: pretty pictures
  • Cons: cannot add vehicle, driver, other online
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By Pierre on January 17, 2009 policyholder

I just saved 50% on my car insuarance. need I say more.

Saved $1,200 by Switching to GEICO

  • Pros: Everything
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Worst Purchase Ever

By okri on December 27, 2008 policyholder

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: very high rates
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
NOT e-serv friendly.

By Taffy on November 21, 2008 policyholder

Tried to pay my college child's car insur with my personal card and it would not accept my name on the card. I see no where to contact co. or e-serv. Also nothing on FAQ.
  • Gender: MAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Cons: NOT e-serv friendly.
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
WORST WEBSITE EVER

By NEVERMIND on November 11, 2008 policyholder claim

I have been insured with Geico for years. Yesterday, and again today, I attempted to remove coverage from a vehicle that I had sold. The "remove" feature was grayed out. I went ahead and attempted to add a vehicle that I had just purchased. The purchase contract, and Virginia law, both require me to add this vehicle pronto! When I finished entering the details of that vehicle, I again sought to remove coverage from the first vehicle. Clicking on THAT box on the form brought up a menu with four choices, which did not include "remove", so I selected "replace" and then selected the vehicle that I wanted to remove - the ONLY item on THAT pull-down menu. This brought up a page that blocked me every time I attempted to enter the VIN number of that vehicle. I then tried to enter the VIN number of the new vehicle, and the website blocked me again. Either furnish a live person with effective help NOW or cancel my policy altogether NOW!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
  • Pros: NONE
  • Cons: Site would not let me remove a vehicle - then kept blocking all further actions - No "Help" feature at all.
Customer ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%