GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,195 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

There Price Keeps Increasing

By HOWIEJT on July 09, 2017 policyholder

Whether You Had An Accident are not
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By Colm on June 15, 2017

I'm trying to get my car inspected. They wanted proof of insurance. I have the old proof of insurance in the car. I went online to pull up the current one. A simple PDF would have been nice. Instead I could have it emailed or mailed by US mail. I tried having it emailed twice. No luck. US mail was obviously a little ridiculous. Thanks!
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Horrendous online system!

By DissapointedInHouston on June 02, 2017 policyholder

I tried for an hour to edit one of my vehicles using their online system. Each time the system required me to fill in the new information (as well as information on my other vehicles that I wasn't trying to change) through multiple screens only to kick me out at the last screen claiming the system had encountered an error. Completely unacceptable!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Poor customer service.

By bad2service on May 11, 2017 policyholder

Your customer service reps are poorly trained. They are not very professional on the phone and are certainly not knowledgable about their job. Would not recommend this company to anyone!!!
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Absolutely HORRIBLE SERVICE ON ALL FRONT

By Jazzy on May 01, 2017 policyholder

My policy rate keeps increasing every six months for absolutely NO valid reasons.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By W84ever2017 on April 27, 2017 policyholder

Pay extra each month for roadside assistant and for what good. It is supposed to give me peace of mind instead it gave me a headache. I understand things get held up but it was beyond customer service expectations, so unprofessional and disappointing. My first time running through an issue, I felt relieved that I could relay this trouble and it was the worst experience ever!!!!I was quoted 45 minutes, then 90 minutes..and on the dot of 90 minutes, I get told they will take 1 hr longer!!!!!that is a total of 3 hours!!!!!
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Hidden fees

By landcsf on April 11, 2017

Really disappointed because of hidden fees and poor customer service.
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Terrible online experience

By Kelrod on April 07, 2017 policyholder

I went online to make my payment that was due. I wanted to change coverage before I did so but there was no link to do this from the payments page I was on. I just went ahead and made the payment because it was due. Extremely disappointed!
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Inaccurate Quote Led to Wasted Time and Frustratio

By Frustrated40 on March 24, 2017 policyholder

Final price was 40% above original quote. After receiving a quote online and then over the phone from a sales agent, I made the decision to switch from my carrier of 25 years to Geico. During the quoting process, we discussed at length a recent accident which my daughter had (the reason our previous carrier had increased our rates). The sales agent could see the accident on his system and assured me that it would have little or no effect on the price after underwriting. However, after submitting paperwork on the accident our premium was raised by just over 40% nearly matching the quote from our previous insurer. It was a total waste of my time and energy to switch. Make sure to get an underwritten quote before switching.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Stay away

By jenembers on March 13, 2017 policyholder claim

Great for everything-except when you go to make a claim. Received very poor communication from the claims department. Have been told different coverage on every phone call. Very disappointed & will be moving carriers once this is resolved.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service