GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,811 Reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

2 out of 5 star rating
Website

By Fishguts on June 25, 2022

Your website and customer service has proven horrible over years.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
website has glitches

By rod69 on June 15, 2022

website has glitches that does not allow one to sign documents and calling customer service to report it, doesn't seem to do any good either.
  • Gender: M
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Edit Info

By Grunt on May 03, 2022

I wanted to update my payment options. Your web page is NOT set up to remove Credit cards which WE no longer have/Use.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Poor Website

By MDguy on April 19, 2022

There didn't appear any way to simply see my payment history (eg payments made over the past 12 months vs charges). That's an essential thing to offer any customer.
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Renewal costs continue to rise...why?

By tom78 on April 10, 2022

Every year cost goes up though my driving record to quite clean. It would be nice to see a reduction in cost rather than a persistent rise

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
DriveEasy

By txpanda on March 22, 2022

Asking policy to opt in the DriveEasy to receive such large portion of discount seems to be an unfair practice because roads are not constructed equally between states as well as where the drivers live. I have decided to opt out the DriveEasy option because I witnessed another Geico's customer who did not receive any discount but instead suffered a raise in the premium. Particularlly in Texas, one typical road may have several speed limits at different sections and it is nearly impossible for any driver to remain under the posted speed limit. Secondly, the DriveEasy app may monitor how drivers reduce speed, e.g. how they step on the brake. If hard-brake is monitored, the app could rate such practice as unsafe driving; however, the app is unable to tell whether hard-brake is necessary. In the case that I witnessed, most hard-brake encountered were good maneuvers to avoid accidents, but the app still considered as bad driving habit. For this reason, I would recommend Geico reevaluate this app and/or offering alternative options for drivers to receive fair discounts nationwide.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Change Vehicles

By Patricia23 on March 06, 2022

Hello I went on line to get a quote change vethicles and see cost. At first I was given an increase of 132.65. after reviewing the policy, I saw the unwanted changes and remove them. the price remained the same. After setting the policy up to go into effect 2 days later when I would take procession of the vehicle. The price increased by 200 and processed before I could stop it. Is this how to do good business.
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
POOR customer Service

By Maria T on February 26, 2022

Long hold times _ ridiculous and when payment failed to go thru they are not courteous enough to call me BAD BUSINESS
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
agents dont know what policy provisions are

By unhappy policyholder on February 24, 2022

I have 2 cars in different states and for some reason I cant get a multi car or multi line discount. I was told if I added another line i would get a multi line discount. I added an umbrella policy. I was told not eligible for multi line discount. I then brought over my motorcylces and they told me I would get a 5% discount on both auto policies. Paid more for motorcycle insurance to do so and now I find I only get 4% discount on one policy nd not the other. agents should know provisions before making customers go through effort to bring over policies and pay more.
  • Gender: M
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Inability to contact and interact with live agent

By Patrick1989 on February 21, 2022

Bought a new car...same as my sister with all the safety features. Geico rates for myself is significantly higher that what she pays...and our family sizes and children ages are only different by a year...her kids are younger. Can anyone explain why it is so vastly different?

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: M
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%