GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,219 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

2 out of 5 star rating
Rate increases are excessive

By kc5az on March 20, 2018 policyholder claim

6 months ago my policy was up for renewal and the premium increased over $50. I completed the safe driving online course and my rate was decreased $60. My renewal notice just arrived and once again, it increased another $50. That's over $100 in a year which is a 13% increase!! Is our income commensurate with this increase? For a company with profits of 25 billion and new lower tax rates from the federal government, I'm appalled. My parents were government employees and always had GEICO. I continued with GEICO for over 50 years and am surprised at how your long term customers are being treated.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

2 out of 5 star rating
Great service, bad relations

By Dingushead on March 01, 2018 policyholder

Everyone who I have talked to about menial topics has been great, but my rates went up by about 13 percent with no explanation other than an email that listed my new rates. It is a challenging spot to be in, as the rates are still relatively cheap. I suggested that maybe it would be good idea to notify customers with a specific reason as to why rates have increased. In my feedback request, I didn't hear any response, not even a "we'll consider it" or an explanation as to why the company can't provide that information. The FAQ offers a pretty general explanation of what could be the reason, but nothing specific. It is especially frustrating, because I have had a clean record the entire time I have been with the company. I think that since the rates are cheap enough, the company feels like it doesn't have to justify or elaborate any rate increase because I "saved 15 percent or more on my car insurance."
  • Gender: MAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

2 out of 5 star rating
not very customer friendly

By justen on February 03, 2018 policyholder claim

all i want to do is view a copy of my payment history seems limited for that sort of data.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

2 out of 5 star rating
Rates keep rising

By Dawnee on January 18, 2018 policyholder

I have been with Geico for over ten years. I have not had any accidents or traffic tickets or claims until I claimed a cracked windshield last month. My rate continues to go up every year. And after the cracked windshield my new rate went up $240.00 a year. This is ridiculous. I hear other insurance give rebate checks, etc for good driving. Geico gives nothing and increases rates yearly. After ten years of continued coverage I find that absolutely appalling.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

2 out of 5 star rating

By irisjn78 on November 20, 2017 policyholder

Im really upset I get told one price for my renew adding my son and his car and then when I look at the monthly payments its different I called and something had change that they no longer offer that why give a price if its gonna be change I really im not happy with geico ive had this insurance for over 10yrs and it never changes it just keeps going up and up
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Changing storage insurance

By Parttimer on November 18, 2017 policyholder

I a very disappointed in Geico insurance. I have had Geico insurance for 10 years, and I have never had an accident. I have used the storage plan all these years, as I am back and forth to Florida. I have just been informed by an agent that I can now only do this once every six months. I am very unhappy with this change. I have never considered changing my insurance to a cheaper plan because of this benefit. I would strongly suggest that Geico take into account the length of time someone has carried their insurance without a claim before they impose these new restrictions.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

2 out of 5 star rating
Increase in payment

By TooMuch on November 13, 2017 policyholder claim

My policy amount owed has increase tremendously over the course of months. Being a single mother I can't afford that many changes. From the time I became a member until now my bill has risen well over $20. I do not agree with it at all. I also dislike the fact that I haven't been notified one time for the increase.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

2 out of 5 star rating
No loyalty by GEICO for years of customer status.

By SouthSideSusie on August 23, 2017 policyholder claim

No loyalty by GEICO for years of customer status. Too big to be individualized. The customer service reps are perhaps, the best of not only the insurance business, but any business. Claim care is easy.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

2 out of 5 star rating
increased premiums ???

By MadLizzard on August 21, 2017 policyholder

Trucks is getting older and premiums go up ??? No tickets, no accidents on record, I will be shopping around,
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
CHAT NOT AVAILABLE

By roderick on August 04, 2017 policyholder claim

Chat not available on Geico.com . This option would save lot of time instead of waiting on the phone.
  • Age: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%