GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,811 Reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

2 out of 5 star rating
Trying to change coverage on my auto policy

By Lbug on December 10, 2020 policyholder

It took me two days, three phone calls and over an hour of total hold time to get my policy changed. I could not use the online service because I have an rv on the policy. After I got a satisfactory quote, I was told to sign paperwork online. Again, not possible, so I called back and explained that. The service rep had to email paperwork which I got quickly, but the form provided no return email. The online email does not allow attachments. Another phone call and a 20 minute wait, and I find out I need to mail the paper back. Got the address and was told that the premiums would be back dated to todays date. I sold a house online and the paperwork was streamlined. Whats up with this?
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

2 out of 5 star rating
Terrible Customer service

By MercedesTacoma on December 09, 2020 policyholder

I have called more than 5 times to change an address on one of our vehicles. I have reached supposed agents who say they will return my call, but never do. I have been trying to manage the policy on the website, but it just says to call an agent. What a catch 22! Sooo frustrating. You can never reach anyone who can actually help you - they are not registered agents!
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Please repair new website

By SatCong on November 16, 2020 policyholder

No matter what change I try to make (in this case removing a vehicle) I get this at the top of the screen : You are unable to select this limit of Bodily Injury Liability at this time. To carry your selected coverage limit, you must complete and return your option form. You are unable to make the requested coverage selection at this time. This coverage must be selected in writing. To reject Uninsured Motorist you must complete and return your option form (M316MI).
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

2 out of 5 star rating

By SidB on November 03, 2020 policyholder

I have tried to speak by phone, but the wait times are in excess of 25 minutes! I wanted to know if there is a giveback this second half of the year. The online chat is useless! Why don't you have a call-back option instead of just waiting and waiting and waiting?
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating

By on November 02, 2020 policyholder

I have never had to wait on the phone for 30 to 40 minutes for a customer service person to answer the phone. Being that you hung up on me 4 count them 4 times and every time I called back the wait time became longer and longer. Why cant you just have a person answer the phone. Is this the kind of service I will get if I had a claim???????
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Customer Service unreachable therefore useless

By on November 01, 2020 policyholder claim

Have called repeatedly but can only get a machine. Same for attempting on line contact. Neither offers an alternative means. It is beyond frustrating ting. Have been with Geico on and off since 1964...Cstomer Service now at an all time low. Notice that Geico Guidelines ask we write with customer service issues. If I could get through their system I would.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Customer service hung up on me

By Newkirk on October 27, 2020 policyholder claim

I waited more than 20 minutes for assistance for an item that your Robot could not handle. I was on the line with your agent for about one minute and she hung up so I don't know if my information that needed to be corrected will be corrected or not. TERRIBLE SERVICE

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating

By mmc10304 on October 20, 2020 policyholder claim

I have not had an issue with geico, until after I was in an accident, recently(rear-ended) which was another persons fault who did not have any coverage. After this incident my new policy was updated for my next payment, which was almost double the amount. This is a crazy jump. How is this affordable to be paying almost $500 monthly?
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
No personel help when needed

By geoheesh on October 06, 2020 policyholder

can not get any person on phone or chat for the longets time....always waiting for someone to help you!
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Vehicle change

By LucyB on October 03, 2020 policyholder claim

I have been trying for 3 days to delete one car & add a new one. It cannot be done online. I have spent over 3 hrs in the past 3 days trying to get a representative on the phone. I even sent a message through FB messenger. Even though they said someone would contact me, it’s been 8 hours and not one word. I’ve been sitting on hold for another 30 minutes now as I type this. Never have I had this terrible service from GEICO. So disappointed.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%