GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,093 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Paperless Billing and Alerts

By Daizy on June 30, 2014

I would have given a higher rating for customer service, the reason for rating poor are several: 1. Web portal has no way to send an e-mail, there is no option to communicate with a live person or send messages. The link 'contact' provided is full of hypothetical, waisted time with trying to find and then select the right option for one's concern is absurd and unnecessary. 2. There are no option for electing e-mail alerts. The only available offering is a text alert and I prefer e-mail reminders. 3. The web portal has a complex system of displaying information. I would prefer the navigation to retrieve payments and the break down of fees and charges to be available. If Geico would improve their communication options and provide an e-mail alert with amount of payment and due date, it would improve my view of their current customer service offering.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Never make any hypothetical changes

By MarriedaccordingtoGeico on June 05, 2014 policyholder

Never, ever, ever make any hypothetical changes to your insurance policy with Geico online! I made a change to see what it would cost if my marital status were to change, or if i added a new vehicle and got children. The next thing I know, Geico made changes to my policy, made me change my user name and login and insisted that I had now become married. To reverse the situation, I needed to verify otherwise by filling out their house hold policy forms again. Im glad I did not ask for a quote on a Porsche 911, or I would probably stuck with paying the premium until I prove otherwise! This is a crazy policy within the online system. Note, you can not revert back even by contacting a representative unless you fill out there paperwork. I am very unhappy with this and will never request an online quote from Geico and probably any other insurance service ever again. I will only call to speak to a representative. I will ask them to record the conversation and state clearly this is a hypothetical situation, I am about to waste your time, but please provide me with a quote via mail.
  • Gender: M
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Billing.

By Sgriff19 on March 07, 2014 policyholder

Every month I seem to get a notice from Geico stating that my payment wasn't made. I go into my account & find they continually use an old closed account, after I've updated banking info SEVERAL times....this is getting really old Geico!!!!!!

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By Forester on March 01, 2014 policyholder

increased our premium without informing us and telling us the reason. not happy with the changes. it will force us to consider other insurance companies' offerings.
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Policy change request

By LSHinFLA on February 25, 2014 policyholder

Geico has instituted a new strategy where reps cannot adjust premium change requests via phone and require customers to go online and do the work themselves or put the change request in writing. Very annoying.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

insurance supposed to go down after the years ,

By Miyamoto on February 23, 2014 policyholder

insurance supposed to go down the price after the years and now is getting more expensive

Saved $10 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

I see no change in doing a check instead of card

By on February 03, 2014 policyholder

I got a call from a rep. who was trying to help me lower my monthly payments. he adjusted it a little bit and said if I go online and change my payment from card to check i would save $4.00 more a month. I haven't seen the change yet. he said it will go down to approx. 128.39 per month
  • Gender: F
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Extremely annoying when it comes to a claim

By CrisTEK on December 18, 2013 policyholder

Had to repeat multiple times the incident for a minor rear end issue and rude customer service in claims (Thomas to be exact) who hangs up on customers when asking for a supervisor. Added a vehicle to policy and it was changed to whatever they decided to add when checking online.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Paperless billing

By ticked2 on November 30, 2013 policyholder claim

I was interested in finding out the cost of each vehicle on my policy like you get on the printed bill you receive in the mail. I was unable to find it because I have gone paperless! Not happy with these results!
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By notimpressedintheleastbit on November 19, 2013

I D Password box does not accept password that complies with the written instructions despite repeated attempts to enter it. Purchasing coverage over the phone (in order to take delivery of a vehicle at a dealership) does not provide adequate documentation to have on hand when comparing options with the UM selection/waiver form online. Insufficient time taken in fact to explain other options /policies.
Value/Fairness
Customer Service