GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,811 Reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

2 out of 5 star rating
Rates

By Kate741 on June 22, 2020 policyholder claim

I think it's lousy that you are airing commericals that you are doing something great for your customers by saving them 15% on their next policy, I just got my new rate and my premiums increased by 9.75%. So how much did you help? Not 15% but 5%. That's 1/3 of what you said you would do. That's not right! I will be looking for a new insurance carrier.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
I want to renew my policy online

By edwinma1419 on June 08, 2020 policyholder

it was impossible to do so, i had to call them in and that is a problem, also I was offered 15% and it is hard to get it.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
Lack of Proof of insurance

By Dork on May 09, 2020 policyholder claim

Why don't you automatically send out proof of insurance when the policy renews?!?!? Clients are left to track this themselves and login, reformat the printing and it still doesn't print double sided as intended. How about some customer care! And oh by the way - don't require this whole review process if it isn't applicable.
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Treated like a suspect

By Strandmeinafire on April 23, 2020 policyholder claim

Someone (I believe my ex) set my car and home on fire. Gieco has been treating me like the main suspect rather that a victim of arson and a customer. The entire process has been awful. Given it is a fight with my home owners insurance - I either stay in motels or my car - all paid for by me so far. During the Covid-19 outbreak all this is terrifying. I had to get a new car, but cannot afford 2 car payments and they are being really slow to get everything together with my GAP insurance. If I end up paying 2 car payments - I will be permanently in my car.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Lack of follow up

By Javierr25 on April 18, 2020 policyholder claim

Never got a call from Geico, had to be behind them
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
COVID-19

By gclacolla on April 17, 2020 policyholder claim

I have not been driving for well over a month now due to COVID-19. I am retired since 2016, and seldom drive. As soon as I retired and stopped commuting daily you should have offered reduced rates. I've called customer service several times with this complaint to no avail, I think it's about time that GEICO provide a discount for any of us who are staying at home and distancing ourselves for the good of all. As well as those of us who are retired. Thank you
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
Customer NON Service

By noservice on April 06, 2020 policyholder

I have automatic payment for my Geico auto insurance which is usually fine except for this COVID crisis where I lost my job in Atlanta Ga due to being closed. I called on 3/28 and talked with a representative and said I want to pay my car insurance by a credit card this month, and to please stop the auto payment due to lack of funds in my checking account. The lady that answered was rude and said that they need 3 days notice and it was already sent to the bank. My bank withdrew the money and fined me. I paid my monthly auto bill by credit card on 3/28/20 and the same amount was withdrawn the next day. I am upset that I called Geico before the auto payment was to be withdrawn and I have always paid my bills on time and have no accidents. Being hit by a double payment due to the amount being withdrawn from my checking and I paid by credit card already proved that Geico is very unhelpful.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Claim Adjuster/Supervisor

By Lottalove on March 17, 2020 policyholder claim

I had a very bad experience with my Claims Adjuster. I had never had an issue with Geico before, however, I was involved in a car accident. My vehicle had to be repaired and towed to the repair shop. After that happened, my claim adjuster was no longer available when I had an issue that came up with my rental car. It was a simple as her extended the date of my rental to reflect the day I could pick up my repaired vehicle. When I reached out to her several times and left messages, she never returned my calls. I then contacted her Supervisor , she would not return my calls either nor respond to my voice mails. I pay my premiums on time and expected not to run into two individuals representing a nationally known insurance carrier like Geico just because their customer service skills were lacking. Thank God, there was one person who finally helped me.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Claim Process

By DisappointedClaim on December 31, 2019 policyholder claim

The first step in filing a claim was easy. After that, the auto body shopped created the quote and Geico has been silent. It's been pretty scary as the auto body shop (who I've been in close contact with) has begun working on my car. I was assigned an Adjuster from Geico who was supposed to reach out to me and walk me through the claim. No communication from him. I've reached out and left him 3 voicemails and haven't received a call back.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Rates increase regularly

By NikkiQ on October 23, 2019 policyholder

Over the past 4 years my monthly premium has increased by $30- this is without any accidents, claims filed, or changes to my driving record. An additional $360 a year is no small thing and Geico is not willing to assist in maintaining a premium.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%