GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,237 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

2 out of 5 star rating
insurance supposed to go down after the years ,

By Miyamoto on February 23, 2014 policyholder

insurance supposed to go down the price after the years and now is getting more expensive

Saved $10 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
I see no change in doing a check instead of card

By on February 03, 2014 policyholder

I got a call from a rep. who was trying to help me lower my monthly payments. he adjusted it a little bit and said if I go online and change my payment from card to check i would save $4.00 more a month. I haven't seen the change yet. he said it will go down to approx. 128.39 per month
  • Gender: F
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Extremely annoying when it comes to a claim

By CrisTEK on December 18, 2013 policyholder

Had to repeat multiple times the incident for a minor rear end issue and rude customer service in claims (Thomas to be exact) who hangs up on customers when asking for a supervisor. Added a vehicle to policy and it was changed to whatever they decided to add when checking online.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Paperless billing

By ticked2 on November 30, 2013 policyholder claim

I was interested in finding out the cost of each vehicle on my policy like you get on the printed bill you receive in the mail. I was unable to find it because I have gone paperless! Not happy with these results!
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating

By notimpressedintheleastbit on November 19, 2013

I D Password box does not accept password that complies with the written instructions despite repeated attempts to enter it. Purchasing coverage over the phone (in order to take delivery of a vehicle at a dealership) does not provide adequate documentation to have on hand when comparing options with the UM selection/waiver form online. Insufficient time taken in fact to explain other options /policies.
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
Rate hike twice in 12 months

By MrsCox2002 on November 01, 2013 policyholder

2 renewals in a row rate increase w/out explanation.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

2 out of 5 star rating
They are great, if you never have a claim!

By TigerNoh on October 03, 2013 policyholder claim

They are good if you never have a claim! After being with them for several years, and paying thousands of dollars. They had to pay out just a few hundred for a claim, and raised my rates by $20 per month that will last for several years! Just a little lopsided?
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
Super Expensive compare to some of the others

By Rajeev on October 03, 2013 policyholder

Super Expensive compare to some of the others
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
Where's the Customer Service??

By whatsinaname on September 12, 2013 policyholder

While Geico isn't terrible, they're not Great either. What happened to Great customer service? I had to call Geico back because the representative was so rude, she kept cutting me off in the middle of my concern and when I asked to her to wait for me to finish speaking, she told me, "Now stay with me here, stay with me." Like I'm in need of her counseling me for dissatisfaction of a service issue! Hello!? They seem to have a lack of staff as well. When I call, and this isn't the first time this has happened, but, when I call and it rings over 20 times before an automated service picks up and tells me they have higher than normal call volume; hire more people. With the price of car insurance these days and the lack of employment out there. It shouldn't be that hard to figure out. ALL about the money!

Saved $40 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Geico is unfair

By rocco on September 07, 2013 policyholder

It seems every month or two I have top contact Geico because of a change in my premium payments(they seem to be constantly changing) I also have to pay MORE for just liability coverage on one car and less on the other for IDENTICAL cars (one year difference) same model same make different insurance costs. Geico gives you a multi car rating only to take it back by rating you higher on one than the other. I never get the same answer from each agent I ask the same question to.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%