GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,165 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Super Expensive compare to some of the others

By Rajeev on October 03, 2013 policyholder

Super Expensive compare to some of the others
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Where's the Customer Service??

By whatsinaname on September 12, 2013 policyholder

While Geico isn't terrible, they're not Great either. What happened to Great customer service? I had to call Geico back because the representative was so rude, she kept cutting me off in the middle of my concern and when I asked to her to wait for me to finish speaking, she told me, "Now stay with me here, stay with me." Like I'm in need of her counseling me for dissatisfaction of a service issue! Hello!? They seem to have a lack of staff as well. When I call, and this isn't the first time this has happened, but, when I call and it rings over 20 times before an automated service picks up and tells me they have higher than normal call volume; hire more people. With the price of car insurance these days and the lack of employment out there. It shouldn't be that hard to figure out. ALL about the money!

Saved $40 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Geico is unfair

By rocco on September 07, 2013 policyholder

It seems every month or two I have top contact Geico because of a change in my premium payments(they seem to be constantly changing) I also have to pay MORE for just liability coverage on one car and less on the other for IDENTICAL cars (one year difference) same model same make different insurance costs. Geico gives you a multi car rating only to take it back by rating you higher on one than the other. I never get the same answer from each agent I ask the same question to.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By CancelledinPa1 on August 29, 2013 policyholder claim

Their value is not all it states, i've found lower prices for comparable services. They do not give you the benefit of the doubt, as well as fair market and loyalty to its customers is not paramount, bottom $$ is.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Agents trying to upsell when phoned

By Thinkingboutswitchin on August 27, 2013 policyholder

Agents don't listen to your request. Appear to be in a hurry. Try to upsell from what the customer asked for.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

rates

By btnune37 on August 12, 2013 policyholder

I"am on the six month payment plan, every six month my rats go up, when i call to ask about it, i'am told that they went up because my state allows them to increase it, and if i want to lower it again i need to chande my policy.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

was not happy

By rrickick on August 11, 2013 policyholder

was billed twice for two diffrent amounts and i cant afford that
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

The claim service is that good

By on August 07, 2013 policyholder claim

Experienced poor customer service. Rudeness!
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Was on hold for 1/2 hour on the side of a highway

By Stephan on July 31, 2013 policyholder claim

I've had no problems with Geico up until this point but this last event has really made me reconsider where I get my insurance. They have a roadside assistance number that you may call and get help. That's great, until I was on hold for a half hour on the side of a busy highway trying to talk to a person. I finally had to give up and make other arrangements because I had people waiting on me and it was getting late. I got a check for reimbursement but it was only for half the cost of the tow. When I called they told me if I had gone through them I wouldn't have to pay any of it but I'm not sure how long they expected me to stay on hold. The Geico representative let me know that in the future if I need help to give them a call. I'm wondering if they're going to get that chance.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Website would not work with chrome

By DesignGuy on July 23, 2013 policyholder

Had to call in to phone number. Phone number not listed on the website footer or header. Had to update my card info; the "edit / update information" would take me to a page that showed my info, but would not let me edit information.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service