GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,796 Reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

3 out of 5 star rating
Policy charges Wrong

By JackieL on April 28, 2022

My policy is billed at $481.90 for June 01,2022. But billing reminder is showing $515.80. As I was paid in full for the prior 6 months I find this unacceptable.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
Website VERY frustrating

By on April 09, 2022

I've tried for 3 days to change my coverage online. It throws me into a loop. Requesting me to log out and then back in.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Typical raises on monthly bills

By James007 on April 09, 2022

Was orginally happy with Gieco but as each renewal comes up, they keep hiking up the payments. It currenlty went up $34. Doesn't matter how good or safe of a driver you are anymore.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
Needs vehicle removal feature

By GGGa on March 19, 2022

Sold one of my vehicles and cancelled registration. Website needs the feature to remove an insured vehicle.
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
Not user friendly

By FFICO on March 13, 2022

Your web site is not user friendly at all. All I want to do is find a copy of prior paid invocies. I have spent 10 mintues and still cant find them. Very frustrating. This site is not helpful.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
LOW MILEAGE - BOTH RETIRED

By Paul39 on February 09, 2022

BEEN WITH GEICO FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND NO PROBLEMS.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Ok insurance company - lacks billing details

By OneSafeDriver on December 21, 2021 policyholder claim

Question why there are charge increases or different premium charge amounts shown with no explanation? good luck in finding that out. Customer service is usually great, friendly as expected yet client will still not have answers which could easily be remedied with itemized bill/invoice. Customer service/agents can't answer premium rate questions without having a license in clients residential state. Doing business with GEICO is quick and efficient with their website portal. Policy may show generalized charges with coverage, still rather uninformative and obscure as to billing details. Billing summary page is a joke. Claims coverage excellent and easy. Premium rates are about the same as anywhere.
  • Age: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Saved Quotes

By Disgruntledwithservice on December 03, 2021 policyholder claim

Why is it so impossible for me to figure out where my SAVED quotes ARE? Why is it that the bigger a company gets, the harder it makes its customer service processes to use? ATT, Comcast Now Geico? It's reasons like this that makes me want to drop my service with companies that put automation above customer service! Signed, "Just a nobody to you".

Saved $500 by Switching to GEICO

  • Age: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
High Insurance premium for EV's

By SRINIM on November 22, 2021 policyholder claim

I have been a happy GEICO customer for many years and I have often compared the insurance premiums with other insurance companies and found that only GEICO offers the best rates for my selected coverage; in addition to excellent customer service provided from handling claims to fixing cars, in the event of an accident. However, I am unable to understand why the Insurance premium for EV's is so high (almost double) than conventional vehicles. The EV that I quoted has a lot more safety features and is much more reliable than the current conventional vehicle that I driving, but I am observing that GEICO is charging more for liability coverage and a lot more for collision (although repairing an EV is much cheaper than repairing a conventional vehicle). With more people planning to switch to EV's in the next few years (based on recent car sales trends), I would want GEICO to re-evaluate its insurance quotes for EV's or risk customers switching to other insurance providers.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

3 out of 5 star rating
difficult to change credit card info

By lfuser on November 04, 2021 policyholder

i wanted to change my credit card on my auto policy auto-pay and the online add card process would not accept my new card claiming it had to belong to someone other than the policy holder. If that makes sense to you i worry about by policy.
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%