GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,093 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

impossible to get a phone number easily

By RayFSU on March 29, 2017 policyholder

I searched for over 10 minutes to get a phone to call GEICO. Some things like make a policy change require a phone call, so it should be easy to get a phone number.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Disappointed with the customer service!!

By M2003 on March 29, 2017 policyholder claim

I called customer service at 5:47 p.m. on March 28/2017 and talked to an agent. The agent was unable to provide solution for my request. I asked the agent to pass on to the Immediate supervisor. The agent , after having hold me oneline , came back and told me that the supervisor (she) would call me in two hours. I have been waiting the call from the supervisor so that my issue would be settled . I haven't received calls until I write this review. I am a loyal customer to Geico for years and very disappointed .

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

road side assistance

By sueblue on March 08, 2017 policyholder

twice I have had to try and use road side assistance. Once it took over 3 hours to bring me 3 gallons of gas in the middle of the night and the second time I locked my keys in my car and they never could find someone to come help me. Ended up taking a taxi to my house to get second set of keys. Very slow response time and not worth the price. Sorry Geico.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Unhappy with Geico's cost

By Libra on March 05, 2017 policyholder

Geico's customer service is good, their policies too costly. I'm almost 80 and have used Geico for car insurance many years in VA, where I did Govt. work and about 4 in FL, where I've resided for about 5 years. Geico's service for me has been fine, their prices have gone beyond my budget. It should be considered that I've been consistently a very safe driver and I've used my Hyundai Accent less than 35,000 miles total since I bought it new in 2006. Premiums keep on going up. If Geico values my loyalty to stay with them and always pay timely, they should trim their costs for me.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Claims service and repair service is slow.

By TonyMNNY on February 24, 2017 policyholder

The approved by geico shop has had my car for 2 weeks and they haven't done anything. I will be without a car for a month!! How is someone supposed to keep a job without a car!! Does geico get a discount for letting the approved shop take as much time as they want on a job? Seriously, my car has physically been at the shop for 10+ days and they are saying they just got the parts. I work in OEM parts distributon and this doesn't make sense. Yes this is part frustration talking but nobody can deny that the work should be done by now.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Why is it so difficult???

By BloodPressure on January 05, 2017 policyholder claim

I like to do things online. I don't want to speak to reps. So when I change banks and want to add my checking account to replace an old debit card, the site won't allow it. I can add another debit card for auto pay, but not my checking account. What the heck? And I can't find a phone number or chat box ANYWHERE to help. So . . . you've made an easy thing on the website so very difficult. Grrrr.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Printing ID cards from the website

By CampGirl on December 23, 2016 policyholder

You really need to redesign your website. There is absolutely no reason for it to take 11 clicks for me to print my insurance cards. If I click on the link to print ID cards I don't need to click over and over to " continue" through a bunch of useless questions. JUST PRINT MY CARDS!!!!!
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

could be better

By Djembe on November 13, 2016 policyholder

It is very annoying to only be able to make payments online. It is especially irritating to only be able to use 1 card, and to be allowed 1 change 1 time only. That does not help me in my situation where I need to use a new card. Can this be fixed? It seems like I can't be the only one with this problem. And it is because of the inability to be flexible with payment method that ensures I do not recommend Geico to others.
  • Age: 25-34
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Roadside Assistance

By cjay on October 25, 2016 policyholder

Had the worst luck and had to use roadside assistance twice in one day for both of my vehicles. The tow came almost 2 hours after the call when they had said 45 minutes & for the second vehicle i was stuck on the side of a 4 lane highway couldnt even get out the drivers side (thats how tight the breakdown lane was) & freezing, and geico really had me out there for hours because there were no tow trucks "willing to take the job" .. in Boston.. not like i was in the middle of nowhere, which is ridiculous because if im paying monthly for this service I EXPECT TO BE HELPED. They told me to call a state trooper and to have him call a tow truck, for me to pay & if the tow company agrees to take payment from geico they will reimburse me. ridiculous isn't even the word so unprofessional. oh and i had to pay a tow truck and wont be reimbursed :) THANKS GEICO
  • Gender: FAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Automatic payment policy

By dissatisfied2016 on October 25, 2016 policyholder

I am not happy that when your on a auto policy payment plan and you try and change information on what card to make a payment that the customer is required to do a 3 day notice and that geico processes there payment 24 hours in advance of the due date and say sorry nothing we can do for you. If I cancel the automatic payment then I have to pay extra 30 days in advance payment to make the payments manually. Also get a charge of 15.00 for doing that as well. SO now I get an overdraft fee from my bank because Geico can't assist in my time of need. Thanks Geico and I have also talked nice things about the company till now.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service