GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,279 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

3 out of 5 star rating
payment options

By anon on December 30, 2008

partial payments on different ccards... no options
  • Pros: online
  • Cons: not flexible
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
saved a few $$$

By sharp01 on December 28, 2008 policyholder

Having high limits on Liblity, I did save a little, not as much as I expected but a savings none the less.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Pros: Geico helped me save a little.
  • Cons: Insurance in FL is still too pricey!.
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
email contacts

By dstott on December 09, 2008

We recieved an email telling us to : Log in to our Policyholder Service Center and click on the Personal Information tab. Click on the Policy Renewal Update link and complete the brief questionnaire. I tried to do as requested. I could not find a Policy Renewal Update Link or a questionaire. I also could not find a way to contact you to ask where it was. This review area will have to suffice for the "contact us" form.
  • Pros: easier to deal with
  • Cons: bum information and no "contact us" link
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
Policy Changes

By tekresq on December 06, 2008 policyholder

Used to be easier and now I really don't like it.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Pros: Online is easier than over the phone
  • Cons: You have to wait for an email back. Much slower process than in the past.
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Change of Address

By Sherridoll on December 01, 2008 policyholder claim

I need to change my address because the county emergency has made everyone go to house numbers instead of RR. I have found this is impossible to do via the internet. NOT GOOD!
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Unable to accomplish this task on the internet
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
tricky service

By Anya on October 29, 2008 policyholder claim

  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Pros: easy access to my policy
  • Cons: great custmr service while purchasing the policy ,terrible when some problems with a car occurred
Customer ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
good carrier

By marktd on October 17, 2008 policyholder claim

This a great carrier, that definitely delivers when you get into an accident. The only issue I had so far is that I admit that I made a mistake and use an old bank account that they had saved on there website to make a payment 4 days before my next payment was due, and they sent a confirmation email, but never informed me that it was a closed account, they just charged me a fee. Here I thought it was paid.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: Great service
  • Cons: DOESN'T INFORM YOU WHEN A PAYMENT DIDN'T GO THRU
Customer ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Lose the recorded payment

By jzzj on October 13, 2008 policyholder claim

I just spent over 20 minutes trying to make a payment with a recorder. It took twice as long as speaking to a person. In the past I always had friendly, efficient people to speak with. If this is the direction they are taking, forget it.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Good service in the past
  • Cons: Bad service in the present
Customer ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Time to shop

By SuzeeQ on October 09, 2008 policyholder

The website is intuitive and easy to use. However, for a person who's had a license for 20+ years, has never had an accident or ticket, and works from home (thus the insured vehicle is used only recreationally), my insurance cost is too high. I'd be more inclined to shop if it wouldn't ding my credit score.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: web site is intuitive
  • Cons: Too costly for minimal driving
Customer ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
Chip in Windshield

By on October 08, 2008 policyholder

We had a chip in the windshield of one of our 5 insured cars. It took 2 months to get approval to get it fixed. We had to send the bill of sale to the adjuster to proved that the car was one of the ones insured, which we didn't have to do to add it to the coverage when it was purchased 3 months prior to noticing the chip.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
  • Pros: Finally got approval
  • Cons: It took 2 months to get approval
Customer ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%