GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,109 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Lose the recorded payment

By jzzj on October 13, 2008 policyholder claim

I just spent over 20 minutes trying to make a payment with a recorder. It took twice as long as speaking to a person. In the past I always had friendly, efficient people to speak with. If this is the direction they are taking, forget it.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Good service in the past
  • Cons: Bad service in the present
Customer Service

Time to shop

By SuzeeQ on October 09, 2008 policyholder

The website is intuitive and easy to use. However, for a person who's had a license for 20+ years, has never had an accident or ticket, and works from home (thus the insured vehicle is used only recreationally), my insurance cost is too high. I'd be more inclined to shop if it wouldn't ding my credit score.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: web site is intuitive
  • Cons: Too costly for minimal driving
Customer Service

Chip in Windshield

By on October 08, 2008 policyholder

We had a chip in the windshield of one of our 5 insured cars. It took 2 months to get approval to get it fixed. We had to send the bill of sale to the adjuster to proved that the car was one of the ones insured, which we didn't have to do to add it to the coverage when it was purchased 3 months prior to noticing the chip.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
  • Pros: Finally got approval
  • Cons: It took 2 months to get approval
Customer Service


By Altima05 on September 29, 2008 policyholder claim

I never get my statements. Either online or via email. However, I get cancellation notices. I am online for the seventh straight month handling a payment because of this. I also repeatedly add a bank account for automatic payments. Has yet to work. It is now getting tiresome.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: The value
  • Cons: Statements
Customer Service

false cancellation notice

By cmc325 on September 13, 2008 policyholder

I received a cancellation notice for a payment I made online far in advance of the due date. I received a confirmation number for the payment, it is listed in my account summary, yet my account says it is up for cancellation and I've been charged a late fee. I looked to see if the payment had been taken out of my checking account - and it had not - even though the funds were there and available at the time I made the payment. I am very serious about paying my bills on time, and don't like receiving cancellation notices for bills I've PAID. There is a flaw in Geico's online payment system, and I would NOT use it!!! I will go back to the old fashioned paper way of paying my bill. Terrible online service!!
  • Gender: F
Customer Service


By Disenchanted on September 08, 2008 policyholder claim

Rates were great at first. My husand and I who had been accident free for over 20 years had a couple of unfortunate incidents and our rates went way up. Then our 19 year son got his drivers license and a car to get back and forth to a local college and our rates just went through the roof.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: online service, easy to pay bills and make changes to your policy.
  • Cons: High Rates
Customer Service

Where is the Geico contact number?

By Power on August 20, 2008

When you log into your account to pay a bill and have a question. You can't find the Geico contact phone number anywhere. You have to log out to get it!
  • Cons: Where is the Geico contact number?
Customer Service

"BUY" Button

By chevyman on August 14, 2008

I coudn't go back and make any changes to my policy before I hit the "BUY" button. Also, watch out...I didn't even hit the "BUY"button and it charged my credit card. I called the toll-free number and talked to an agent to get it staighten out...will see what happens.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: Not insured with GEICO
Customer Service

premium payment

By douglas on July 30, 2008 policyholder

I pay less for GEICO but on my monthly premium I kept getting a cancellation notice each month even though I send the payment in 3 days to 2 weeks before the due date. what is a due for?
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons: cancellation noticessss
Customer Service

Premium Jumpy

By Longhorn on July 21, 2008 policyholder

I liked gieco at first but everytime my policy gets renewed Im scratching my head. I have had the same coverage limits on everything for the past 3 years, I have not had any tickets and no accidents so why does it keeping going up??? I cant figure it out.
  • Gender: MAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: Online service center.
  • Cons: Premium.
Customer Service