GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,219 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

3 out of 5 star rating
Neon Repairs

By Disappointed1 on January 15, 2008 claim

A Geico client recently ran in to my car causing damage. The Geico rep and adjuster was initially very courteous and helpful. Experience turned awful in the end as they would not agree to resolve my concern that a final test evaluation was needed to determine if an additional problem detected was related or not.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: Not insured with GEICO
  • Pros: Courteous, quick initially.
  • Cons: Terrible with close-out
Customer ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
Okay Claim

By cbdots on January 10, 2008

The online info was useless.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: Not insured with GEICO
  • Pros: Got my refund quickly
  • Cons: Was not given a complete refund
Customer ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
Subaru Repair

By Subarued on January 10, 2008 claim

Overall the repair turned out nice, but it took entirely too long. The original estimate didn't find all the problems so work was held up until the Geico adjuster came back from vacation. The shop thought the car would be totaled and didn't want to commit to anything till they got word and the substitute Geico adjuster wanted to wait for the original adjuster. The delay could have been avoided if a good valuation of the vehicle was done at the beginning to know the repair cost that would have totaled the car and and a better initial estimate would have been even better. Overall, it took 6 weeks for a 2 week job.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: Not insured with GEICO
  • Pros: Repair was good
  • Cons: Took way too long to repair.
Customer ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Sons accident

By wallermom on January 10, 2008 policyholder claim

More info should be given to insured
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
  • Pros: Son snuck claim in without paren'ts knowledge so I guess "even and 18 year old can do it"
  • Cons: Didn't ever received report on cost paid out
Customer ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
An Experience

By johnoc on December 19, 2007 policyholder claim

Being a Geico customer is good because of ease of use. But if you have an accident beware. Decisions concerning repairs on vehicle are monetary and not whats best for customer. I was in an accident and the repair cost was over 75% replacement cost. There was extensive front end damage and the vehicle is nowhere close to where it was before the accident. There are shimmies and pulls at speed and when braking.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: Easy of use and completing tasks. Good customer service
  • Cons: Decisions concerning repairs on vehicle are monetary and not whats best for customer
Customer ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
service of claims good

By harley68 on December 18, 2007 policyholder claim

I switched to Geico when someone else ran into the back of my car. They had Geico, they paid for my damage quick and let me use a local machanic. The prices with geico are very good. When I have a claim they take care of the other persons damage quickly. My only complaint when my husband hit a deer they made him come to their shop to evaluate the damage done to his truck. We live in the country and the nearest geico was 60 miles away in city traffic, very inconvient. They should have sent someone to our house. Made us want to rethink having a local insurance carrier.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
  • Pros: fast claim
  • Cons: having to travel to a geico shop.
Customer ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
No treated fairly

By chuk1279 on December 18, 2007 policyholder claim

I love the companies customer service; however I got into one minor accident and 1 speeding ticket in the last 4 years and my premium went up quite a bit. I'm not really happy about it, but I will stick with Geico for now.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
  • Pros: Go customer service
  • Cons: 1 ticket big premium increase
Customer ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
accident

By on December 18, 2007

Two years ago in December I was involved in an accident. A car hit me from behind and did about $1800 in damage. Geico paid for the repairs on my car immediately but was unable to get payment for my $500 deductible from the insurance company from the other car. After a year and a half they took the other driver to court and won a judgment. The other driver has to pay $100 per month to the course. So, in another 15 months from the time of the judgment, I will get my $500 - only 3 1/2 years later (as long as the other driver doesn't default on the judgment). It has probably cost Geico thousands of dollars in agent and lawyer fees to get my $500 back.
  • Pros: didn't give up
  • Cons: length of time
Customer ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%

3 out of 5 star rating
Photo Finish?

By TomOD on December 17, 2007 policyholder

I had photos of the parking lot fender bender which showed no damage to my car, no transfer of paint. Yet, the other car showed damage that could not have been caused by my car, vertical and horizontal gouges, deep dent, and dirt in the gouges. Preexisting damage on the other car, is what I contend.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: Easy, fast reporting
  • Cons: Inability to contest Adjuster findings.
Customer ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
Misleading

By brimegs on December 17, 2007 policyholder claim

I was told I was eligible for certain discounts and when I noticed I wasn't receiving them after a few renewal periods, they said I had to be at a certain level. They also did not want to replace my BRAND NEW Car when it got wrecked. They only repaired it.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Customer ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%