GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,146 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

could be better

By Djembe on November 13, 2016 policyholder

It is very annoying to only be able to make payments online. It is especially irritating to only be able to use 1 card, and to be allowed 1 change 1 time only. That does not help me in my situation where I need to use a new card. Can this be fixed? It seems like I can't be the only one with this problem. And it is because of the inability to be flexible with payment method that ensures I do not recommend Geico to others.
  • Age: 25-34
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Roadside Assistance

By cjay on October 25, 2016 policyholder

Had the worst luck and had to use roadside assistance twice in one day for both of my vehicles. The tow came almost 2 hours after the call when they had said 45 minutes & for the second vehicle i was stuck on the side of a 4 lane highway couldnt even get out the drivers side (thats how tight the breakdown lane was) & freezing, and geico really had me out there for hours because there were no tow trucks "willing to take the job" .. in Boston.. not like i was in the middle of nowhere, which is ridiculous because if im paying monthly for this service I EXPECT TO BE HELPED. They told me to call a state trooper and to have him call a tow truck, for me to pay & if the tow company agrees to take payment from geico they will reimburse me. ridiculous isn't even the word so unprofessional. oh and i had to pay a tow truck and wont be reimbursed :) THANKS GEICO
  • Gender: FAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Automatic payment policy

By dissatisfied2016 on October 25, 2016 policyholder

I am not happy that when your on a auto policy payment plan and you try and change information on what card to make a payment that the customer is required to do a 3 day notice and that geico processes there payment 24 hours in advance of the due date and say sorry nothing we can do for you. If I cancel the automatic payment then I have to pay extra 30 days in advance payment to make the payments manually. Also get a charge of 15.00 for doing that as well. SO now I get an overdraft fee from my bank because Geico can't assist in my time of need. Thanks Geico and I have also talked nice things about the company till now.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Could be easier to sign up.

By mehh on September 09, 2016

The price is good and I did shop around. I havnt really had any problems with your company. My only complaint is that I could have done this online and the only reason Im being made to talk to a representative is so I can be put through the 'Salesman' treatment.
  • Gender: M
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Pricing getting too High

By BobZ on August 03, 2016 policyholder claim

I have been a GEICO customer since 2008- initially moved from another majored insurer to save money. . Here are my recent yearly increases: 2012 -> 2013 3.7% 2013 -> 2014 9.74% 2014 -> 2015 13.67% 2015 -> 2016 2.63% 1st half Same cars and coverage just older. no claims. I also don't like the online forms. I want to see an old fashioned compete insurance invoice in 1 or 2 pages. I also want all of my ID cards printed on one sheet of paper.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Current claim process

By RobinM on May 27, 2016 policyholder claim

The beginning of my claim process was ok. The very first rep that assisted me was great. He made sure he found a body shop near my home and he helped locate a tow truck. Once the car reached the body shop there was very little communication and I had to always call and get the status of my vehicle. The day the car was ready for pick up I got a call from the body shop asking if I had the insurance check. I called the claims line and spoke to Andrea. She had to update all the information in the system because NONE of the information regarding the body shop was listed. The communication toward the end of this process was horrible. The customer service was horrible. I thought the way the claim process started was how it would be throughout. I am very shocked that this is how the process works.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By dmoss on April 22, 2016

it sad to be told one thing and you find out it wasn't right so you end up paying more money for their goof-up
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Need a ins verification

By on April 10, 2016 policyholder claim

Why can't the website be easy to find my insurance coverage history for the whole history instead of only let ting me print the current six months?
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Trouble setting up payments

By glendeti on April 04, 2016 policyholder claim

I had trouble making and scheduling payments so I didn't overpay the account an cause you to issue a refund.

Saved $10 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

web site

By nerual on March 24, 2016 policyholder claim

I feel that your site is not made easy to contact you with my e mail message.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service