GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,093 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Could be easier to sign up.

By mehh on September 09, 2016

The price is good and I did shop around. I havnt really had any problems with your company. My only complaint is that I could have done this online and the only reason Im being made to talk to a representative is so I can be put through the 'Salesman' treatment.
  • Gender: M
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Pricing getting too High

By BobZ on August 03, 2016 policyholder claim

I have been a GEICO customer since 2008- initially moved from another majored insurer to save money. . Here are my recent yearly increases: 2012 -> 2013 3.7% 2013 -> 2014 9.74% 2014 -> 2015 13.67% 2015 -> 2016 2.63% 1st half Same cars and coverage just older. no claims. I also don't like the online forms. I want to see an old fashioned compete insurance invoice in 1 or 2 pages. I also want all of my ID cards printed on one sheet of paper.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Current claim process

By RobinM on May 27, 2016 policyholder claim

The beginning of my claim process was ok. The very first rep that assisted me was great. He made sure he found a body shop near my home and he helped locate a tow truck. Once the car reached the body shop there was very little communication and I had to always call and get the status of my vehicle. The day the car was ready for pick up I got a call from the body shop asking if I had the insurance check. I called the claims line and spoke to Andrea. She had to update all the information in the system because NONE of the information regarding the body shop was listed. The communication toward the end of this process was horrible. The customer service was horrible. I thought the way the claim process started was how it would be throughout. I am very shocked that this is how the process works.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By dmoss on April 22, 2016

it sad to be told one thing and you find out it wasn't right so you end up paying more money for their goof-up
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Need a ins verification

By on April 10, 2016 policyholder claim

Why can't the website be easy to find my insurance coverage history for the whole history instead of only let ting me print the current six months?
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Trouble setting up payments

By glendeti on April 04, 2016 policyholder claim

I had trouble making and scheduling payments so I didn't overpay the account an cause you to issue a refund.

Saved $10 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

web site

By nerual on March 24, 2016 policyholder claim

I feel that your site is not made easy to contact you with my e mail message.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By alaineg on February 21, 2016 policyholder

I was trying to get a copy of my coverage for my golf cart, which is required by my club. unfortunately, the page which you supply is useless since it does not contain my name or address. It is not acceptable as proof of my coverage. That page has to be reformatted. Also, when I tried to print out proof of insurance cards, I ran into two problems..fist, the form wasn't designed well for printing as it was cut off i the middle. And second, it kept asking for a VIN number for the golf cart. Golf carts do NOT have VIN numbers!!!!
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By Telephone on February 16, 2016 policyholder

I received a letter stating geico tried to debit my account for pay amen and were never given authority to do this . I don't ever want my account auto debited
  • Gender: F
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

So much for loyalty

By SoMuchForLoyalty on February 08, 2016 claim

Have been a Geico customer for over 6 years and I have never actually had to use my insurance for an accident, ever. Last year, I used my insurance for a very minor, no injury accident. I did not ask for my own car to be fixed, only the other car involved. The gentleman involved in the accident told me the estimate he received from his shop was around 800 dollars to fix and he was given a car rental for a few days. I am in the process of renewing my policy and due to this accident, , Geico has penalized me and is not giving me the rate I would have if not for using my insurance for this very minor accident. My monthly rate is nearly double what it should be. In the end, I would have been better off not using my insurance. I feel that is a very detrimental mind set for Geico to put its customers in. To feel as though you cannot use the insurance you have paid for, on time, for literally years. I'm terribly disappointed.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service