GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,796 Reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

4 out of 5 star rating
Driver safety course discount

By Gene 812 on May 03, 2022

Since GEICO only gives a discount for one driver if there is only one vehicle, my wife will still drive the vehicle from time to time but no longer has to take a course that reminds her of new rules and procedures for being a safer driver. Strange that GEICO does not want all drivers to be the safest. I would think the defensive driver course discount is so small anyway it would be in the insurance companies benefit to recognize being a safer driver and give the second driver discount.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

4 out of 5 star rating
EXCELLENT SERVICE BUT STILL HAVING GLITCHES

By ALITTLEBITALEXIS on February 16, 2022

I was so happy getting my new car and only one month into it i was rear-ended by another Geico driver/customer. The 12/30/2021 date of accident was bad enough but then a week later i had my wallet stolen with all of my debit cards, credit cards, drivers license, etc. gone. I was then left to fend for myself against Enterprise Rental car. First when i was driven from the collision center to their rental center when i became aware that my wallet was missing. I tried to get them to accept the photo copies of my DL but they would not. Luckily i had another extra VALID license and was able to go back the next day. Once again, GEICO came shinning thru transferring my reservation to the new location and authorizing a full size other than the little knee knocker sub-compact that was originally authorized. But here is the kicker, Enterprise will not rent you a car without a physical valid credit or debit card with over $300.00 available. Once again, i was forced to Lyft in to work which i was late for a second day in a row thanks to unpleasant, snarky folks at Enterprise Rental Car. I suggest a change from the top they are dragging Geico down.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

4 out of 5 star rating
Schedule Payment in Advance Option

By BSMcA on February 06, 2022

The website is user-friendly. However, the option to schedule payments in advance has been removed. Please consider putting this option back on the "make a payment page." I like the option of scheduling my payments ahead of time instead of waiting until the due date.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

4 out of 5 star rating
Address change:

By Noneofyourbiz on January 03, 2022 policyholder

The ability to reach customer service is NILL. I've been on your website to try to change my mailing address but there is nowhere to do it and no phone number to call for such an important reason. ONLY the phone number to PAY. Imagine that....
  • Gender: F
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

4 out of 5 star rating
Qualified for accident forgiveness but rate hike?!

By MiamiJayBird on December 26, 2021 policyholder

Another 6 month policy increase, why? Last year i was told its my city and where I live in relation to vehicle claims. Never have I filed an accident claim with multiline vehicles for well over 5 years, I even have qualified for accident forgiveness but my policy went up $128! Do better Geico and treat good customers with low risk with better rates DONT increase them and provide a non-specific non correlated reason non specific to the policy or customer. Great customer service, great online utility and great app based service features but crumby blanket discretion for rating policy rates.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

4 out of 5 star rating
Clarity on the billing

By SuperDosso on December 25, 2021 policyholder

Hello Team, When I receive an invoice from Geico, I am not able to see the break-down of the cost based on the vehicle. I have three cars under me but cannot see the cost of the insurance associated to each car. I usually ask my family member to pay me back for the cost of their cars. However, I cannot easily see that in my current invoice. I had to call customer service to get the break-down. It should be nice if it is given this information in the dashboard. I had hard time to find the information. I used also the app but could not located the information. Finally, after my call, the customer representative told me that it is not available and she recommended me to write a review. Thanks, Sao
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

4 out of 5 star rating
Mobile App sucks

By Arodjlo on October 20, 2021 policyholder

Mobile app does not work on my new iphone. Customer service could not help, after being on phone for 1 hr. Regular website not allowing me to update my payment preference. Also, just bought homeowners thru geico for discount on my auto for multiple policies, has not gone into effect yet? Lots of chats online bout your app not working. Lets go Geico, get your act together!!
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

4 out of 5 star rating
GOOD PRODUCT AND SERVICES

By JESGLO1 on October 18, 2021 policyholder claim

THANKS FOR SERVICING MY POLICY SO WELL. THE OFFICE ON WEST LAKE HOUSTON HUMBLE TX HAS BEEN GOOD TO GO TO BAT FOR ME THANKS
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

4 out of 5 star rating
Payment Method

By Tomcat44 on July 10, 2021 policyholder

I had a hard time changing my credit card information online to make automatic payments of my auto insurance. I would recommend that Geico include a button to automatically print the confirmation of payment screen for the customer's files. Geico has been easy to work with in the past and their prices are competitive.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

4 out of 5 star rating
add or delete autos

By autopolicy on March 29, 2021 policyholder

It would be more helpful and save your staff time if I could add or remove insurance on my autos with out having to call and be on the phone for 20 minutes waiting. If I sell a car I should be able to remove it online with out having to call and be on the phone for 20 minutes.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%