GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,215 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Change in policy conditions

By jack57 on December 20, 2017 policyholder claim

I recently made several modifications to our auto, homeowners and umbrella policies. We recently moved to a new state so modifications were required for all our policies. Every agent I talked to for the different policies was knowledgeable, prompt, courteous and effective. I am pleased to do business with Geico and will recommend this company to my friends.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Update to previous review

By Orchid on December 16, 2017 policyholder

This morning I gave a review rated 'poor' for the customer service I received via phone on 12/09/17 for Massachusetts auto insurance. In fairness, I want to let you know that my husband who was in on the call on speaker completely disagreed with my assessment. He said it was at least 'very good' and he felt the gentleman did a fine job of explaining the options to us. Please take this into consideration when reviewing my review from earlier this morning. Thank you.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Roadside Assistance

By Maddddie on December 15, 2017 policyholder

My car broke down on a state highway - I was obviously distraught at being broken down. I do know I was very verbally abusive to the two representatives that I talked with and I am so sorry and apologize for this behavior. The couldnt have been nicer and more accommodating to help me get my car towed and me to a safe place. After getting my car to a mechanic closer to my house - the mechanic told me he couldnt (or really didnt want to do the work) I called roadside assistance again and they were amazing - they picked up my car from the mechanic and brought my car to the dealership... I am forever grateful for this service. Thank you very much again to everyone that helped me! Regards
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Two words, Postpone Payments

By Bcmd on December 15, 2017 policyholder

I was moved to write a review because nothing in my life is as simple or useful as the option to postpone my payments. I am on autopay, and with Christmas coming am a little short this paycheck. So I get online, and in like two seconds I was able to postpone my payment until after my next check, no questions asked, no big to do about it, just click and done. I just thought that was really nice and easy and worth a review.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Pleasantly Surprised....

By Cody72916 on December 12, 2017 policyholder

Having gone through a very trying year, losing my only sibling in July, then losing my furry best friend of 14 years 2 months later, one would think my bad luck streak was over. It wasn't. On December 1st, I was on my way to work at the airline I work for, at 03:40 am (yes, we work crazy hours) and I hydroplaned on a very dark road, losing control of my vehicle and ended up being pinned inside a totaled car. I honestly figured my bad luck streak was to continue...but then I called Geico when I returned home from the hospital later that morning, and I spoke with Don, who couldn't have been more kind, thorough, and efficient with reporting my claim, and covering every question that I could have ever thought of. I've dealt in customer service my entire life, and I must say, I have been more than blown away by every single person that contacted me from Geico--from Don, to the medical adjuster, to the local adjuster, Kevin, who did the inspection of the vehicle at the tow yard. I've never experienced consistency in a company where everyone I dealt with approached the situation with a can-do attitude--and it was refreshing. I have convinced at least 3 of my friends who were contemplating switching their car insurance to give Geico a try, simply by letting them know of my recent experience. I sincerely thank you for having the end result be a positive experience!
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Pleasant surprise

By FiretreeActual on December 11, 2017 policyholder

I had to add a second vehicle, one I won't drive a lot. The procedure to add the vehicle was easy, intuitive, and the expense of the second vehicle was pleasantly less than I expected. It's the best experience I've had with an insurance company in a while.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Jeff was Awesome

By VeryHappyCustomer on December 06, 2017 policyholder claim

I just wanted to take a second to write a review about how fantastic my GEICO representative was when dealing with issuing an FR-19 form to the MVA to satisfy an outstanding notice. Jeff (in the Auto Insurance Department) was kind, knowledgeable and took the time to go above and beyond by figuring out various ways to issue the FR-19 form. I hope his work and kindness does not go unnoticed but I'm sure it doesn't. Thanks, Joey
  • Age: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Easiest thing I do in life!

By WendyMustang on December 05, 2017 claim

We are longtime customers and will remain customers forever. I am able to easily view anything I need to, make changes anytime I wish, even add a vehicle when I need to and print my own Insurance cards with ease. I just added a vehicle and start to finish, it maybe took 5 minutes. I can log in anytime to see my payments and other information. Fortunately, we have only had one claim and we couldn't have been more pleased with how GEICO handled it. We got exactly what we expected, and the agents we dealt with were just great. Highest rating possible!!
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

I deeply appreciate your service

By Gnosis on December 04, 2017 policyholder

You guys are an excellent company and I want to stay in good standing. I hadn't realized I was late on my payment. After everything you did to make it so easy for me to change my name, drop and add cars, and inform me of informing the state of de-insuring the old car as well, I felt bad about this discovery. And there on your website, when signing in to make the payment, I discovered the auto-pay option and was very happy to see that as well. And so I enrolled. You have unwound the very nature of the feature of insurance to what it originally wanted to be: shared trust, flowing through from one party to another in the form of energy exchange (moneys$$ ; ) at a most reasonable rate, and as simply as possible. An act of first rate magick if you ask me! I salute and humbly thank you. You have clearly put a lot of thought into the work you do, and from the advertisements you seem to keep it fun. So I am guessing and hoping from all indications you have as good an internal culture to work for as you have had when I've dealt with you in person or on the Web site. Not easy to do on the scale of a large company. And if so, many more years of success to you!
  • Age: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Updating covered vehicles

By Ecotype on December 03, 2017 policyholder

Just bought a new car. It was incredibly easy to swap out the old insured car for the new one! Five minutes and a few clicks later it was complete! The site walks you through all the steps. And even though I replaced a 7 year old car with a new one, my rates stayed very reasonable. I was shocked and pleased! Really happy with the ease and pricing! Nice job, Geico!
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service