GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,279 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
this website is hopeless

By TomN on March 14, 2013 policyholder

I cannot find where to get into my motorcycle policy without getting in an endless loop of logout and login ? I want to renew it and you make it too hard ! I shouldn't have to log into each policy separately.
  • Gender: M
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By kaveman on March 04, 2013 policyholder

The people doing the billing don't know what they're doing
  • Gender: M
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Unfair rate increase!

By unfairandupset on March 04, 2013 policyholder

I had two "not at fault" incidents that caused a ridiculous increase of about 40% to my monthly dues. When I inquired why, the phone associate simply stated that it shows statistically I will be more likely to get into an accident later on. How can they increase the amount I pay each month on something that was not my fault and that they didn't have to pay for?!..and 40%!!! Super unfair!!
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

1 out of 5 star rating
Insurance premium increase

By bmwdriver2013 on March 01, 2013 claim

I had been a member of Geico Insurance services since 1996. I leased a BMW 335xi Sedan from Jan 2010 and at the end of the three year lease in January 2013, I requested GEICO to suspend my insurance account. I traveled to India to visit family and came back in February. I leased a new BMW on 02/28/2013. When I contacted GEICO for my car insurance, I was given a much higher quote, I was given multiple reasons for the rate increase and they would not consider my long time membership with GEICO. In 23 years of driving, I receieved a single ticket in February 2011 and GEICO increased my rate two years after the incident. This type of customer service is unacceptable.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

1 out of 5 star rating
Copy of ID insurance cards

By viliz26 on February 20, 2013 policyholder

I'm new to Geico signed on 1/7/13I will recommend it because of the price, I'm not happy that just to get a copy of my insuance card by mail it took almost a month. I called customer service on 1/9 I was told that It was already been mailed out, then I called back on 1/16 was told same, called back on 1/22 was told same again I finally received a copy on 1/26 with postage dated as of 1/24. That is just not acceptable and don't appreciate the dalay

Saved $90 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: F
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Poor

By justinn on February 11, 2013 policyholder claim

i had a total loss claim that took way to long SUV was totaled in November and took till January to receive my check .To get the inspection took over a week very unsatisfied .

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Rates always go up!! no matter your driving record

By unhappyinRI on February 02, 2013 policyholder

I have been very dissapointed with Geico. I have been a policy holder with them for 4 years, and in the course of that time my policy has gone up $20 montly. I have not been in any accidents, and have no violations (speeding tickets)...yet my policy goes up and up. So much for being a loyal customer.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Can't get anyone on the phone

By on January 31, 2013 policyholder claim

Been on hold 2 times now for an hour each for someone in their home insurance department. This is ridiculous.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
waiting 20 minutes on phone for home ins. csr

By smartboy on January 30, 2013 policyholder

I am waiting 20 minutes on call to speak to a CSR regarding my home owners policy....OMG.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Worst customer service

By ServicePlease on January 26, 2013 policyholder claim

I was involved in an accident. My garage submitted an estimate. I contacted my claims representative three times leaving messages and receiving no response. My garage contacted her more times receiving the same response (or lack their of). I finally contacted her supervisor, and received a response, three weeks after my accident. She attempted to apologize saying they had not received the estimate, my garage has documentation to the contrary. Upon resubmitting the estimate, Geico finally cut a check to begin repairs four weeks after my accident. I received no attempts from Geico to rectify their error, not even an we're sorry.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%