GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,237 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
Terrible. Waiver Website failed to work.

By Adamant on July 05, 2012 policyholder claim

For no reason the system failed to complete the transaction, despite repeated attempts.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Website is very unhelpful

By insandiego on June 21, 2012 policyholder

Trying to change my policy was confusing enough I just had to call. When my daughter was hit by an uninsured motorist, they were not helpful and did't remove the vehicle as requested the first time.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Had to make changes on my own

By briz on June 19, 2012 policyholder

Called for help but after several hours waiting for email from Geico person on phone, I had to make the policy changes on my own.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Poor investigation of accident

By tataw on June 04, 2012 policyholder claim

Decision based on one individual telephone conversation
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Claim dept. very poor

By Fellow on June 03, 2012 policyholder claim

Geico is bad in regards to claim.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By UnhappyCamper987 on May 30, 2012 policyholder

Called Geico to ask about adding another driver to my coverage. They added the driver against my wishes and told me "tough luck".
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By on May 30, 2012 policyholder claim

They are great until you have a claim then you are the red headed stepchild.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
the geico price given online is not what i pay !!!

By luvmybaby on May 23, 2012 policyholder claim

the price quoted online is very different from what i actually pay !!!
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

1 out of 5 star rating
Rude CSRs, Difficult to deal with

By ABQChuck on May 23, 2012 policyholder claim

In more than five years of dealing with them, GEICO has had only one slim advantage over the other companies in an industry that is generally overpriced, unhelpful when needed and having a penchant for hiring some of the rudest people on the planet, on a par with cable and telecom companies. GEICO's one slim advantage is that they're slightly cheaper than the others. But, they're still overpriced for the product offered, very difficult or unreachable for KNOWLEDGEABLE and FAST assistance and have very rude customer service reps and hard-to-access internet applications with a lot of unnecessary and repetitious layers of security. And, their security certificate typically is improperly formated and not current.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Preview Request

By Kimo on May 23, 2012 policyholder claim

I had the rep say the most screwed up thing to me stating that I must have been following to close or I would have been able to avoid crashing.It's my crashing that prevented me from smashing into the lady in front of me and because she braked suddenly all I could do was skid.I was 3 car lengths away.The rep doesn't right a motorcycle and she has know idea how inconsiderate people are to bikers.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%