GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,163 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

supervisor was very rude and rushing through

By nist on March 30, 2011 policyholder

Had supervisor review my policy and asked to see if we could get more discount, but was spoken to very rudely and trying to rush through the call. name was kelly. very disappointed with geico especially after dealing wiht this company for more than 11 yrs
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

poor handling of claims

By Neo1 on March 24, 2011 policyholder claim

I was recently in a 4 car auto accident caused by a fellow Geico customer. The handling of the accident was poor by both my claims representative and the other claims representative. Not to mention, it took 3.5 weeks to get a settlement of the totaled car. During that time a lien was put on my car by the storage facility and I had two different Geico auto adjustors look at my car. Getting the check was not an easy process and it was less than market value. Lastly, the claims representative made a final decision on the accident without looking at the police report. I am a14 year geico customer and I was made to feel like the victim.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Not Really Simple - Auto and Homeowners

By KenR on March 17, 2011 policyholder claim

Really frustrating experience. I thought moving my insurance from another insurrer to Geico would be simple, but auto and homeowners are really seperate companies. When I set up homeowners, I wanted the same automatic payments as auto, but no.... Need to fill out forms, mail back. Tried to do on the website, a seperate log-in, password. The homeowners site does not set you up automatically, they send you a PIN. So many steps, so much hassle. A pain I wish I had not gone through.

Saved $200 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Most Frustrating Website Ever

By UnhappyUser1 on March 10, 2011 policyholder claim

This has to be the worst website I've have ever had the mis-pleasure to use. You get e-mails to pick up documents, and the page is still asking for other information.
  • Gender: M
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

This is the worst business I've seen conducted.

By Claim4Pain on February 21, 2011 policyholder claim

I am a man who deals with a lot of businesses on the regular, and I am very frustrated and dissapointed with Geico. Everything about the claim process I am immersed in has been miserable. I have been in catalyst in nearly every step of the process moving on, ranging from paying out of pocket for a police report and supplying it when notified that otherwise it could be an eight week wait, to over 20 phone calls between myself and various persons in the process. I have been misinformed causing me to pay for not one but two overnight shipping envelopes Your business is not customer friendly whatsoever, and as an informed consumer I can honestly say that the cost savings from your self service model is not worth the hassle that ensues. The agents I have worked with have all been supportive, great people. It is the process that is experiencing the major issues.
  • Gender: MAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Increased fee

By nat2nat on February 19, 2011

I am a loyal customer to geico. But the fee increased dramatically in last payment even though I have no change in my personal info.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By Roseanne on February 01, 2011 policyholder claim

Will keep you on the phone for hours over something that other insurance agencies would be bake to take care of in minutes. Very unhappy with the serviced I received this night.
  • Gender: FAge: under18
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Road Side Assistance Service

By branshe14 on January 25, 2011 policyholder

In the past I have always been so happy with Geico. I have bragged on the past customer service that I have received, i've even referred a few friends to Geico. Last Friday i had a blow out on the highway, it was around noon and a very sunny day. I have roadside assitance with Geico and I decided to use it. The Lady who took my information was very poite and helpful about 30 mintes after i got off of the phone with her the Dallas Sheriff pulled up right behind me to help me out, after they pulled up I got a call from the roadside assistance guy and he says " hey I see that the sheriff just pulled up behind you to help you its a good thing that they came because were not allowed to help if youre in the left hand lane". Myself and the Sheriff were at a lost for words that he didnt even stop.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Not so cheap anymore

By Jus10 on January 22, 2011 policyholder claim

Its bad when they nearly double your premium when you had not wrecks; only credit score went down. There are much cheaper companies out there!
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

They are cheapper, but not always better

By geicosux9999 on January 18, 2011 policyholder claim

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
  • Pros: Cheapper than Allstate and most of the others.
  • Cons: If you ever need to make a claim it is so bad. Their claim is hard to deal with.
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service