GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,238 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
Got the usual a lot of talk with no resolution.

By gougedtodeath on November 07, 2011 policyholder

Noticed my premium went up again. I called to find out why and was told it was t provide me with the great customer service I am receiving from GEICO. Geeez! In that case, I'm willing to pay less for less than stellar service (considering I never call for anything but to question my why premium continually goes up). I was also told, by the rep, it's because other drivers have had accidents in the type of vehicle I currently own. So why do I get penalized for someone (whom I don't even know) Else's bad driving habits? Does this make any sense?

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
One Difficulty After Another

By growthtek on November 03, 2011 policyholder claim

I was involved in an accident where I hit a bicyclist as I was leaving work. The bicyclist was not injured and was a co-worker. Long story short...claims said on 2 occasions that if I purchase the bike for my co-worker that I would be re-imbursed. I purchased the bicycle that day and when the adjustor contacted me he said he would start taking care of everything. I wrote him 3 total emails with no response to have only realized that he had sent me a rejection letter with a multitude of typos and misspelling stating why Geico was no longer going reimburse me. At the bottom of the letter was a clause stating the reason for not reimbursing was that 3rd party collision does not cover my property and that the bike I purchased for my co-worker became mine when I bought it for him. I am now told that I will be reimbursed, but that was after 40-50 phone calls and talking to people that transferred me to another co-worker that had no more power than they did. It has been 8 days since the check was "mailed" and still no sign of reimbursement. Should car insurance be this difficult?
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Documents Fiasco!!

By TheNutcracker on November 01, 2011 policyholder

Is there a reason why a company would name completely different documents the same exact name?! I actually understand computers but can fully understand how someone who doesn't, get completely frustrated and confused by trying to get documents from you guys! Can you please name all documents differently so that when you have to print them out, you're not printing out the same thing over & over & over again because all documents are named the same.
  • Gender: F
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Mistake made by Geico

By Josetroy on October 25, 2011 policyholder

Today I was surprise and informed by email (1 week after the insurance as made an agreed the terms/conditions) that the insurance will increase from 699,90 to 1129 for 6 months. After I called geico an explain the situation. I was informed that they have several departments and that they have made a mistake. When clearly the insurance conditions where agreed at the moment the insurance was made.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Unfair assessment of accident

By geicobcosnochoice on October 14, 2011 policyholder claim

I was driving on a freeway one afternoon and my car hit a couple of chairs that fell from the car going in front of me. I did not get the chance to note down the license plates of the car in front. Though GEICO did a very good job in repairing my car, they determined that I was at fault. And my premium has increased since then and looks like it wouldn't decrease until GEICO extracts the money they spent on my car's repair. And moreover, the other insurance companies have been quoting higher premiums that GEICO because of GEICO reported the accident as a result of my fault to the state DMV! I am with GEICO not because I like it, but because I don't have a choice...
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
Check your Policy OFFEN

By CUHOG on October 08, 2011 policyholder

My advise to anyone that has Geico Ins. is to check your Coverage and make sure that there has not been any changes to your coverage. Make sure that your "Collision" is still on your policy. Check your Policy Offen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

1 out of 5 star rating
Poor Customer Service

By Bahamas on October 02, 2011 policyholder claim

When I had a Claim Geico did not want to pay out or fight to get my claim fixed or paid. I was stuck with a doctors bill that Geico didn't want to pay out. Also I was hit by another person and Geico did not help me out with the claim.

Saved $120 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Automatic Payment - Issues

By PleaseRead on September 27, 2011

When you change your credit card half way through on automatic payment it picks the old card and not the new one. You need to make that change on your website so I dont have to get reminders saying I havent paid my bill although I have automatic payer set up with my new card. What's the point having automatic payment set up if it doesnt pull from the correct card? Rating it bad so you read this and make the change
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Horrible Experience

By beege24 on September 19, 2011 policyholder claim

The only reason I still have them is because they are what I can afford and it's awful how I am paying an arm and a leg for it every month and it doesnt cover me for anything!!!! All of the representatives are horrible, they dont care about you or your accident or what position you're in. A few months ago I was in accident and heard from Geico a few times, but was on the phone everyday with the other persons insurance. Then Geico closes my claim for lack of contact! Ya oon their part!
  • Gender: F
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
charged my account dry

By GiecoBrokeTheBank on September 12, 2011

using the online features at geico.com is incredibly frustrating and confusing. logging in with your account number is an ordeal, as the information box for login information is no where to be found. once you do finally access it, the content inside is just as confusing. The worst was when i understood that i changed my payment plan to much less than it was, and they kept charging me full price for the next four months draining my account dry. worse was getting a call from geico that woke me up this morning saying my payment bounced. way to go geico.
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%