GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,371 reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
GEICO wasted my time !!!

By quxayhma on February 17, 2020 policyholder claim

I received an email from GEICO and in that e-mail was an article talking about insurance needed when you reant a car. First thing I needed to know was what, if any insurance I already have. It stated that if you had full coverage you probably have some. he old "Just click here to find out." Good luck. Here I am 30 minutes later without a clue !!! Oh, and then I get this ! We're sorry, but we have encountered the following issue(s): Value/Fairness is required. Customer Service is required. Your nickname has already been taken by another reviewer. Please choose a different one. Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO is not in the correct format.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
Claim Followup

By UnHappyin2020 on February 13, 2020 policyholder claim

Having an issue with claim followup on incident that occurred 6 days ago. I've contacted Melife myself 4 times thus far. Not happy having to do this myself. Wat's insurance for if I have to do this activity.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
the absolute worst experience ever

By azfuqed4u on January 21, 2020 claim

gieco auto insurance has proved ro be the worst i've ever had to deal with after someone rear-ended my car that also had geico they deemed my car a total loss and turned my whole world upside down without even batting an eye the insurance adjuster went around me issued a check to finance company and totally ignored my letter of rejection to the offer and made the decision to do what she wanted without letting me have any involvement... made me wish i wouldn't have even been wasting my money paying for insurance it was not even in my best interest to carry insurance they are just GROSS AND UNREASONABLE they do what they want regardless of your position in the situation...
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: Not insured with GEICO
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Mobile App not working on iPhone

By Dickens on November 22, 2019 policyholder claim

Tried logging into the Geico mobile app, but when I went to enter my password it would not give me a keyboard option to type it in. Very frustrating! I've been in the mobile app successfully many times before, so I don't think it is a user issue.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Scheduled Payments

By PF45 on November 13, 2019 policyholder claim

I had nothing but great experience with GEICO but i am very disappointed to find out that i was billed on a date other than that discussed at the very beginning as i was setting up my plan. Further more , Geico refused to give me a refund saying that nothing else could be done. That is not exceptional customer service. All i asked was to make things but to no avail. My billing due date was set up for a certain date for a specific reason but coul d not be honored by GEICO. I went on-line later and it showed my billing date and it's amount which was also less than what i was billed for. please make it right GEICO. That is all i ask .

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Very poor customer service

By Regretful on August 09, 2019 policyholder claim

Geico is very nice when you speak with them but when you have a claim it is very hard to get through it. I had a minor claim recently and they took over 2 months to resolve it and they tried very hard to get out of paying the claim. Luckily I had solid documentation. All the while they never once called me with updates or progress steps. I had to call multiple times a week and they would send me back and forth to different people. Each person I spoke with never knew anything about the claim and the information I got was often conflicting with what the last person told me. If I hadn't called and kept trying to get the claim resolved they would never have moved on it. No one at Geico knew what was going on and no one was trying to find out. I asked many times to be updated and informed about the progress and never received anything from them. The repair shop was also not informed and they were not responsive to them either and Geico would give different information to them and to me. It was frustrating and required alot of effort and still took 2 months to fix a minor claim.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Website is useless

By steveb4435 on August 01, 2019 policyholder

Every time I try to do anything while I am logged in as a customer I spend a bunch of time entering info (eg, for adding a car) and then get logged out of the site. None of my changes are saved so I have to start over. This has been happening ever since I have been a customer for over 3 years now. I want web self-service. I do not want to call and talk to someone because I could do it 1/4 of the time if the site worked. Please fix it! At the very minimum your web developers need to add proper error handling so that instead of kicking someone off the site there is some kind of messaging saying what happened.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
terrible quotes

By Jake721721 on July 12, 2019

most expensive quote I received by 60%. Customer service not flexible.
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Poor Road Side Assistance

By MREYES on July 08, 2019 policyholder claim

My wife got a flat and needed road side assistance. Geico sent On Point Assistance, LLC. Initial message from the road side assistance provider informed her that the assistant would arrive about 47 minutes later. After an hour she called and was told he would arrive in 4 minutes and was hung up on by the service provider. After 5 minutes I called them myself and was told the driver would be there within a few minutes. He arrived 10 minutes after my call. In total over an hour and 15 minutes just to get assistance for a flat tire from On Point Assistance, LLC. On Point was not On but Off and not on point whatsoever. Need to improve on their customer service.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
A hassle to make changes

By brian3333 on May 31, 2019 policyholder claim

I called and added a driver to my insurance which was easy but was not told how much it was going to raise my rates. Received an email later saying my rates were tripled. I tried to remove the driver but was made to jump through hoops and submit extra documents that I didn't have before they would remove him.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%