GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,457 reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
Can not remove a driver from my policy

By SanRay on June 24, 2020 policyholder claim

Via the website its not allowed to remove my wife from my car policy and I have to call the general number. After going through all phone hoops, and getting the referrals again that I should the website/app (what I tried by you don't allow it) I have to wait on an agent. Finally have the agent on the line, and she tells me that the systems are down for the next 3 hours.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Website doesn't work, phone doesn't work

By JerryCP on June 10, 2020 policyholder claim

Website doesn't work, keeps logging me off. Tried calling and phone keeps getting disconnected. Rate was increased for some unknown reason and can't reach anyone to find out why. Horrible.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Billing

By worstService on June 09, 2020

I was charged an additional amount of $18 for my policy premium without my consent. I was shown a different amount before payment and a different amount was deducted to my account. No help from the agent when I called.
  • Gender: M
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
overcharging my account and not refunding my money

By Insripoff on May 13, 2020 policyholder claim

Geico goes out of their way to tell everyone they are giving you a 15% discount. They even sent me a letter stating what my renewal bill would be with the discount. However, then they debit my checking account for the full amount without the discount and I can't seem to get a straight answer on when the over $200 will be put back into my bank account. Extremely poor service.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
15% Renewal discount/ Covid 19

By Jscott0121 on May 09, 2020 policyholder

I called in on today (5/8/2020) and spoke with a customer service rep after reviewing my upcoming (5/17/2020) auto renewal policy online. After reviewing the coverages online I noticed we had omitted collision coverage on two vehicles, so we proceeded to add the coverage back which increased the renewal premium. While preparing to make the renewal premium I saw where the premium due that I was given did not coincide with the renewal premium MINUS the 15% covid 19 discount. I called back and spoke with another customer service rep and she informed me that “Accounting applied the 15% discount to the original renewal premium on 4/28/2020 since that was the cut-off date”. I stated to her “that sounds good”. However, the policy hasn’t been renewed. Just as I made an adjustment, so can your accounting dept. I could understand this better if the renewal was already in effect. I have been with Geico for 20 years and claim free! Needless to say, this was quite disappointing.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
too expensive

By 0708 on May 08, 2020 policyholder

First quote was $520. Second quote was $702. Third quote was $739. Everyday my insurance goes up. NO coronavirus discount.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Very Disappointed Customer

By DisappointedFL on May 07, 2020 policyholder claim

I was hit by an uninsured driver while on a vacation 300 miles from my home. The repair took two months. I was told that I'd be reimbursed for 100 miles of the tow. Six months later, not a penny. I also had to pay nearly $400 for the rental car, despite the fact that my truck sat in multiple lots for one month before being repaired. So, I've been out $800 for nearly SIX MONTHS.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

1 out of 5 star rating
Terrible way of treating 10+ year customer

By MiamiBeachDriver on May 05, 2020 policyholder claim

I have been a policyholder since 2009. My premium has been going down every year due to safe driving. All of a sudden my rate increased almost $200 for my 6 month premium! No accidents or tickets last 2 years and this how you treat a longtime customer? Awful communication with customer retention team. Everything about this renewal process has been a slap in the face.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
cannot edit existing policy

By Dunc on May 04, 2020 policyholder

Tried simple policy changes online like removing a driver and changing coverage but it wont let me because i have comprehensive only on one of my 3 vehicles. WHY? Also got a quote but am unable to see it online and activate it. FRUSTRATING WEBSITE
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By OKOK on April 30, 2020 policyholder

I get charged $5 even on AUTOPAY.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%