GEICO Customer Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5 (128 reviews)

Start Quote

Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Sort By:
Filter By:

Good Buy

By SSanta on October 18, 2009

Geico did exactly what they said they would do. I had a claim, called them up and explained the problem, they said it was covered, took it to the dealer, they fixed it and I paid the deductable. The money I saved on this one repair has more than paid for the policy. Highly recommended, no hassle, dealer repair. Saved thousands over the dealer extended warrenty.
  • Pros: Easy, no hassle.
  • Cons: None
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

I love MBI

By mharrison70 on October 12, 2009 policyholder claim

Getting MBI coverage was the best thing I did when I purchased my wife's car in 2005. We recently had two major repairs and because of our MBI coverage we saved over $2000! Thanks GEICO!
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
  • Pros: Saved me money!
  • Cons: None
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Worth every penny I spent and more!

By ROXY on October 11, 2009 policyholder claim

I have owned my BMW convertible for 6 years. After my warranty expired, I never dreamed maintenance and repairs would be so costly! Thank God I purchased mechanical breakdown insurance the day I drove the new car off the lot even though I thought I would never use it! My car has needed several repairs in the last year. It has been a lifesaver especially during these tough economic times. Claims service was wonderful and very understanding. Geico was there for me when I needed them the most!
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

At ease

By on October 11, 2009 policyholder

Knowing I am covered with Geico keeps me at ease that should anything happen Geico will be there to assist me and my family.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: Service and cost
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Love my Geico

By ladyofthelake on October 08, 2009 policyholder claim

When I purchased my new car in 2003, my Geico customer service representative told me about my service warranty and I was delighted. That was 6 years and 90,000 miles ago. What a great coverage to have as my car has needed some minor repairs this past year. I'll never trade in my car with the care I'm guarenteed with Geico!
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: Best customer service, cost and coverage
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet.
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Best Bang for the Buck!

By on October 08, 2009 policyholder claim

Mechanical Breakdown Coverage has been a great value. It has more than paid for itself in the fifteen years or so of coverage. There have never been any hassles about repairs or repair facilities. If I'm not satisfied, GEICO is not satisfied. It can't get any better than that!!!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Coverage not offered by other insurers
  • Cons: I have experienced none!
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

A Purchase that WORKS!

By aky13 on October 07, 2009 policyholder claim

How many times, over the last 20 years or so, have you bought something that performed EXACTLY as it was advertised? GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance is one of those rarities. I bought this insurance at a tiny fraction of the "extended warranty" sold by dealers or other companies. Fortunately, I did not need it until the beginning of this Summer when my car air conditioner literally exploded. I called GEICO and had repair authorization almost immediately after I ended my conversation. There was NO hassle. GEICO told me to take the car ANYWHERE, even to a dealer - which I did to assure genuine parts. GEICO paid the dealer directly. I did not need to lay out any money and then await reimbursement. THIS is the way ALL purchases should work!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Exactly as advertised!
  • Cons: NONE
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Good service

By rmano on October 07, 2009 policyholder claim

Good customer service with fast action
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
  • Pros: Fast and with all information
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Great Partner

By Trapper4 on October 07, 2009 policyholder claim

When I have had a problem Geico has either sent a very qualified person to the dealership to discuss the repairs with the. I know that I'm getting the repairs done right the first time. When I had repeat occurence Geico was there to contact the dealership to get this fixed. The mechanics know they are dealing with knowledgeable people so there is no monkey business.

Saved $300 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: When I'm dealing with the dealership over the repairs I don't feel I'm alone and at their mercy.
  • Cons: None
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service
Vacation

Excellent

By airforcewife on October 07, 2009 policyholder claim

I didn't even realize I had this on my insurance and I had just happen to look at my policy the month before. My husband and I were driving and noticed a problem with the dash so we stopped at the neartest dealer and they took it in, I then came home and called Geico and asked about what this was on my policy they explained it to me and then walked me through the whole process. I had my car back to me in 24 hours and only had to pay the $250 deductile which saved us about $300.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: quick and friendly
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service