GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5 (128 reviews)

Learn More

Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Excellent Claim

By ireplicant on October 07, 2009 policyholder claim

GEICO handled my mechanical breakdown claim quickly and expediently. They did all of the negotiating with the repair facility. I did not have to haggle with the shop that repaired my car.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

A real commodity

By cojack on October 07, 2009 policyholder claim

This is a policy with peace of mind that even the competition could match.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: Peace of mind
  • Cons: How can there be any Cons with superior coverage
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

great company

By besh on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

everything and everyone was outstanding the dealer was shocked how fast they received the money
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Cons: can not think of anything
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

smartest coverage I got for my car

By Stingray on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

GEICO's response was excellent and the claim was handled in an efficient manner. The one problem I had was the facility I picked was not the best as I found out after I picked up my car the repair was done but they failed to return my car to the condition it was in. The problem in no way was the fault of GEICO. I picked a chevy dealership thinking they would provide the best service for my corvette and was not satifisfied with their workmanship.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: 24 hour availability
  • Cons: Do not reccomend repair facilities
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Excellent Service

By turbomark on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

First of all I would like to thank everyone involved in the MBI division for there outstanding job. I had a spark plug snap inside the cylinder head of my 2005 sentra while doing a tune-up and if it had not been for my MBI insurance coverage I was looking at a big bill. I would highly recommend this coverage for all that qualify

Saved $500 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: Everything was taken care of between MBI and the repair shop
  • Cons: Nothing
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Excellent Value

By JetFan on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

As I drive a lot of miles, I thought the MBI plan made sense for the unfortunate large maintenance issues that pop up as your car ages. One use has already saved me $300. My premium paid to date for MBI has already been covered by this savings, a computer malfunction.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Ease of use; cost benefit
  • Cons: None
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Great Product

By ADKBEAR on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

This is a great product. My wifes clutch went at 58,000 miles miles and the clutch was not covered by 3x36,000 warranty. Geico paid the $1600 repair less deductable. This was a real budget saver.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: Protection beyond Car Warranty
  • Cons: None
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Fine product

By Charliehorse on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

I find the MBI very good to lessen worries about possible breakdowns. Only used once since carrying MBI for quite a few years. In the long run, so far, the only use has not paid for the premiums over the years; but that is not the reason to have it. One has to be concerned about the big things that can go wrong: engine or transmission, for example. That's why I say keep it for the big problems that MIGHT occur.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Peace of mind
  • Cons: Long discussion to get okay to fix
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Great value

By mainewoods on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

MBI was easy and inexpensive when the vehicle was new. A $1900. transmission was covered @ 80,000 miles minus $250 ded. Quite a savings. At 5 + years old, MBI is now 25% of my premium, but still worth the expense.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: Easy claims process
  • Cons: Cost increase as vehicle ages
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Easiest fix

By twisses on October 06, 2009 policyholder

Had a problem with a window on a vehicle and called - the reps were not only very professional but would not stop until I got results. Got it fixed and is the best money we ever spent. Better than an extended warranty!! We have been with GEICO since the 1970's - have checked others and they cannot beat the premiums.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Smoothest fix I ever had
  • Cons: None
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service