GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.

Average Customer Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 / 5 (128 reviews)

Learn More

Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

5 out of 5 star rating
Fantastic!

By RichardM on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

I purchased a SAAB, and of course, when something breaks on one, they are not inexpensive fixes. I live in Arizona, and all of the things which have broken on it, they blame on the heat. This car has been nothing but a headache for me, but with the Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (BMI), I was able to keep from getting nickle and dimed on repairs. I LOVE this service!

Saved $1,600 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: Quick Results
  • Cons: NONE
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Glad I Purchased It

By GoodSavings on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

My alternator went on my van that was just over 3 yrs old. In turn, I needed a new battery and belts. Had the work done and then remembered that I purchased this coverage. I never thought that this would be something that was covered. The rep I spoke to reviewed everything and although I should have called this in before getting the work done first, he understood my situation and I was able to be reimbursed. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is purchasing a new car. It is well worth the cost and it is SO much cheaper than the extended warranty that the dealer wanted to offer.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
  • Pros: Excellent Service, Understanding of Claim Rep
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Great Value

By curmudgeon on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

This is my 2nd claim. At 99,600 miles - claim for leaky radiator accepted and taken care of with the dealer. 1st claim was for Service Engine Light (fuel level sensor) and Bad U-Joint...all independent events costing my deductible per of $250 - but with the insurance, I was able to control my out-of-pocket expenses.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
  • Pros: Good value - cost spread over time
  • Cons: expensive
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Smartest thing I've ever done

By jeffp on October 06, 2009 policyholder claim

I have a 1999 Durango with 143,000 miles. I have replaced 3 transmissions, 2 rear ends, 1 front hub, 1 intake manifold gasket, 2 water pumps and a few other things. Agents are always fast and polite. Never had any problems always got approval within 2 hours.

Saved $1,000 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
  • Pros: fast, fair, polite, bargin
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Great deal

By mauja88 on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

I am on my third car with this coverage. On my first car, a Chevy Lumina, which I put 186000 miles on, I saved thousands in repairs. Everything from a water pump to a cam chaft to the transmission. My second car was a VW Passat, which I only put 126000 miles on. Geico covered a waterpump and numerious oil leaks, which totaled several thousand dollars. I highly recommend this coverage!

Saved $5,000 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: low cost, covers expensive repairs
  • Cons: none
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Best Deal

By Pyros on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

I have the MBI and could not be happier. We have no problems getting or truck fixed once with the correct parts. The last time the truck had to be towed. They help with the arangements and took care of everything.

Saved $10,000 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
  • Pros: Never a problem with the claim
  • Cons: not enough car renters allowence
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Outstanding!

By on October 05, 2009

At a critical moment when the dealership called to say I needed a new engine, it occurred to me that perhaps there had been a savvy Geico professional who had the foresight to enlist me in this coverage. Thank you to that customer service representative, and a tremendous thank you to those who assisted in the repair of my car; everyone should have this coverage. Thanks again!
  • Pros: Nothing but pro.
  • Cons: Not a one.
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
GEICO is the best

By mishka on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

I've been with GEICO many many years. None of my previous insurance companies were offering such a comprehensive breakdown coverage. Very easy to use it. The GEICO's agent never gave you a headache when you reporting a breakdown. Just excellent coverage.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Quick and reliable breakdown fix
  • Cons: nothing
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Best Money Ever Spent

By mzav on October 05, 2009

This is the best money I have ever spent. We have used this 3 times in the last 2 years to keep my aging Ford going and my husband's Mini on the road. Fabulous service - would recommend it to everyone who buys a new car.
  • Pros: Spend a little, save a lot
  • Cons: Can't think of one
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Excellant Choice

By ladydee on October 05, 2009

Choosing this coverage was a very wise decision. My A/C broke down and after the quote from my dealer I thought I would have to go without A/C this summer. Then I remembered the MBI I chose instead of purchasing the dealer extended warranty. I put the claim in and they handled everything. All I had to do was make the appointment with my dealer and take the car in. Only had to pay my deductible which was very affordable and a fraction of the total cost.
  • Pros: fast service
  • Cons: none
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%