GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.

Average Customer Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 / 5 (128 reviews)

Learn More

Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

5 out of 5 star rating
My experience, this was money well spent.

By jbleininger on October 05, 2009 policyholder

I used this service several times. Always professional, ready to help. A real Customer Service operation.

Saved $300 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: Always got prompt results.
  • Cons: Not available after 100,000 miles
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Good Experience

By Geckophile on October 05, 2009 policyholder

I took my leaking 2004 Saab 9-5 wagon to the new area dealer and was told it needed nearly $1,100 worth of work. I told the service department to go ahead. I thought the work, seals and sensors and stuff, would be maintenance. I decided to call GEICO just to see if some of the work might be covered by the mechanical protection coverage. The gecko accepted my claim even though I did not call before authorizing the work, which the coverage requires. There were several problems so I had to pay multiple deductibles, but the gecko negotiated the price down by about $175. The bottom line is that my potential bill was reduced by almost half in spite of the multiple deductibles. I was very pleased. I think I will trade the car when the GEICO mechanical coverage expires because I won't have the gecko to help me with mechanical problems any more.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: Fast service, got price reduced
  • Cons: None
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
best investment ever

By Luly on October 05, 2009

You expect the best from Geico and you get it. I have been with Geico for approximately 25 years. Throughout, Geico has provided great service.
  • Pros: This works like an extended warranty.
  • Cons: Have to remember to call them before any work is done. However, they respond immediately.
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
MBI

By Solarmapper on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

Got my AC replaced in the Mississippi summer.
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: works when original warranty expires
  • Cons: None
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
MBI is a Lifesaver

By Nesi on October 05, 2009

I have had Geico since 1998 and have used MBI about 3 times, I believe. The most expensive being close to $1,500.00 for the A/C compressor in my last car. Thank God for Geico. I live in Orlando, Florida and it is hot down here! This is a great service! The $250 was a lot easier to come up with than the $1,500.00. Thanks Geico!!!
  • Pros: $250 is better than several hundred or thousands.
  • Cons: $250 is still a lot when you don't have a lot.
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Window Stuck

By Joni on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

My left-side window motor quit working and I couldn't roll it up or down.

Saved $250 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Fast and very courteous
  • Cons: none
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating

By GARDINER on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

EXCELLENT ADDITIONAL SERVICE PROVIDED THROUGH GEICO INSURANCE AND I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FEATURE TO ALL INSURANCE CARRIERS

Saved $464 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating

By Chap on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

Excellent response time to all claims. The breakdown ins is an absolute must in our household. Have used it on two vehicles. Could not be happier with service.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: We have had geico for years, would not change. Always had excellent service. The claim service is exceptional .
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Geico Mechanical Breakdown Policy...

By INSURANCE on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

I love the MB policy supplemental plan; it has helped me so many times when my vehicle has broken down or had mechanical/electrical problems, which have caused it to malfunction. You have to get this coverage!!!
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: Sure comes in handy when your vehicle is no longer under warranty from the manufacturer
  • Cons: $250 deductible Per Problem can get expensive
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

5 out of 5 star rating
#1 Quality

By seaPA on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

I have had MBI for my 4 most recent car purchases. I was always treated with respect when I had a claim. My most recent claim was a transmission repair at 95,000 miles. The manager and employee were so impressed that they said they were considering getting GEICO insurance. They said that all other insurance companies were looking for a way to NOT pay the Claim. They told me that GEICO's only concern was that I was being properly handled by the repair shop. GREAT JOB GEICO. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Handling, speed, professionalism
  • Cons: NONE
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%