GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.

Average Customer Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 / 5 (128 reviews)

Learn More

Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

5 out of 5 star rating
Major breakdown

By Franklin on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

Received excellent response upon reporting the problem. Thanks Kindley Amount save switching to GEICO I have been with GEICO for so many years I do not know.

Saved $600 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: excellent service
  • Cons: none
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Great Product

By Ratu on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

It was very easy to use and getting assistance was very easy. Thanks You
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Very reasonable and affordable
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
GOOD WORK

By DOMER45 on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

Saved $400 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Surprise Coverage!

By CarlosM on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

The Nav system for my Jeep broke just after the warranty period. I had bought the extended warranty which refused to pay anything (of course). I forgot I had this coverage but when I called GEICO they called the dealer while I was on hold and not only processed but paid the claim as well: all in less than 1/2 hour. This is a BIG reason why I wouldn't switch my auto insurance. They made it very easy.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Eases the pain of repairs
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Best experience ever

By SJTF on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

My truck needed repairs, and I took it to the local Ford dealer who informed me of the problem and gave me an estimate. I told him of my breakdown policy with Geico and he gave them a call. Within an hour, I was given approval to repair my truck from the Geico rep. The whole process was so painless and easy, all I had to do was give the dealer approval to make the repairs. We have been with Geico for many years, and to me there is no other insurance company out there. Go Gecko!!!!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: The entire process.
  • Cons: None
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Great Benefit

By MRTR on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

When My 06 Equinox required extensive repair, I called GEICO and inquired about the service. Within 2 days of my call, my vehicle was repaired and back on the road. The deductible was small compared to the repair charge. Excellent benefit, thanks GEICO
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
  • Pros: It's all good and easy
  • Cons: There isn't any
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Don't Worry!

By Lizzie on October 05, 2009 policyholder

In a panic when my car broke down and having JUST made it to my destination, I forgot about my Mechanical Breakdown insurance with Geico. We limped into the nearest service station and my vechicle just conked out. In a bad position and still 3 miles from the house, I was overcharged a bit and misdiagnosed at first. When Geico stepped into the picture, the problem was correctly identified, the price dropped and car was ready in two days. I also received two thirs of the money back that I had laid out! It was definitely a win-win situation!
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
  • Pros: Carefree driving regarding breakdowns
  • Cons: None
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Worth it!

By Oompah1003 on October 05, 2009 policyholder claim

I recently had the transmission on my Nissan Murano fail. It needed replacement. Cost was around $6500. In the process of examining the transmission it was noticed that the transmission caused the transfer case to fail also. this was an additional $2000 job. Geico handeled it with no issues or hassles and All I laid out was my $500 deductible. Great service Geico!!
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
  • Pros: No hassle, claim paid immediately
  • Cons: None
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
Best insurance I didn't know I even had.

By Yoshman on October 05, 2009

So at 95000 miles my truck's transmission expires. I was talking to my Geico rep on an unrelated matter and he mentioned that I had MBI on the truck. I didn't even know this, my wife had purchased the policy! I paid my deductable and drove off three days later with a working transmission which I thought was going to be all on me! Nice job Geico.
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

5 out of 5 star rating
100% awesome!

By ChevyGirl on February 19, 2009 policyholder claim

I have to file a MBI claim. Geico was quick and thorough. They found that the part was still under warranty and saved me even more money! =) As my Geico operated said "Yay!"
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
  • Pros: Everything!
  • Cons: Nothing!
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 100%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%