Maryland Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Maryland
Whether you live in Bethesda near the nation's capital or the state capital of Annapolis, you could find great auto insurance rates with GEICO. If you're new to Maryland or just making sure you have the best car insurance quote, GEICO can work with you to make sure you have the right car insurance coverage in MD. Check car insurance rates by getting a free quote with GEICO.
Registering Your Car in Maryland
To register your car in Maryland, you will need to show proof that you have car insurance. If you've just moved to Maryland, be sure to inform GEICO of your new address so we can make sure that your auto insurance matches the requirements for Maryland registration.
Unlike other states, Maryland has a state inspection called the Maryland Safety Inspection. You will need to pass this inspection and receive a Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate before you can register your vehicle. Each county in Maryland has authorized inspection stations, so find the one nearest to you. The inspection will ensure that your vehicle is up to the state's safety standards.
After you complete your registration, you will likely receive a letter requiring you to get an emissions test. It is important to note that this is separate from the safety inspection, and the state requires that both are completed. Check with your county to find inspection locations.
Are you a new resident of Maryland?
As a new resident of Maryland you must register your vehicle within 60 days of moving to Maryland. If you delay beyond 60 days, you will not be eligible for a tax credit for any titling tax paid in another state, and you may be subject to a citation for an out-of-state registration.
You can apply for a Maryland title, and registration, in person at any of the MVA's (Motor Vehicle Administration) full service branch offices. You also can mail the documents to the MVA's Out-of-State Title Unit, 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying.
Typically, you will need to submit the following forms to obtain a title for your vehicle:
- Proof of ownership
- Application form for Certificate of Title form (#VR-005)
- Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate
Maryland Car Insurance Coverage
New Maryland residents and established Marylanders need to make sure that they meet the legal Maryland auto insurance requirements. They may also choose additional coverage that fits their needs. GEICO can give you a free car insurance quote and help you find the right coverage for your car. GEICO also offers many discounts, such as the Maryland defensive driver discount.
The minimum legal Maryland car insurance coverage is:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $30,000 minimum per person / $60,000 minimum per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $15,000 minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $30,000 minimum per person / $60,000 minimum per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $15,000 minimum
- Personal Injury Protection: $2,500 minimum*
*Note: Maryland allows you to waive Personal Injury Protection and choose a limited PIP option. Please speak with a GEICO representative to discuss this option.
Teen Drivers In Maryland
Maryland teens looking to get their driver's license should become familiar with Maryland's teen driving laws. To receive a learner's permit, a teen driver must be at least 15 years, 9 months old and complete a knowledge test. After nine months, the driver becomes eligible for a provisional license. Young drivers must first complete driver's education and pass a road test. The minimum age for a full license is 18.
We're here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The quickest way to contact us is through our app or online. You can also chat for immediate help.
Check Out a New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com