Louisiana Car Insurance
Car Insurance Coverage in Louisiana
Sure, it's called the Bayou State, but that doesn't mean there aren't thousands of miles of road to travel. Whether you're buying a new car, getting a Louisiana auto insurance quote, or just looking to switch to GEICO, we've got everything you need to make an informed decision. Keep these facts in mind as you look to find the car insurance coverage that's right for you. Remember, you can start your Louisiana car insurance quote anytime.
According to Louisiana's Department of Transportation and Development, with very few exceptions (i.e., parade vehicles), every driver must have car insurance. You'll also want to make sure you keep your Louisiana proof of insurance card somewhere handy. You could receive a citation if you're pulled over and unable to provide proof of coverage. Also, don't forget to register your car in Louisiana.
What is the required coverage for car insurance in Louisiana?
The following coverage is required by the state of Louisiana to legally operate a motor vehicle:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: The minimum legal requirement is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: The minimum legal requirement is $25,000
- Medical payments: The minimum legal requirement is $1,000*
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: The minimum legal requirement is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident*
*These coverages can be rejected.
What other coverage options do I have?
There are many additional types of coverage available to drivers in Louisiana. It's quite common for a Louisiana policy to include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This is meant to protect you from drivers with limited or no insurance coverage.
What is "full coverage"?
"Full coverage" typically refers to comprehensive and collision coverage. These types of coverage are common for newer vehicles and are often required if your vehicle has a lease or a loan.
Don't let your auto coverage lapse in Louisiana!
It's very important that you don't let your car insurance coverage lapse or expire in the state of Louisiana. If it does, your license will be automatically flagged with the state. This will prevent you from renewing your registration. The state may also fine you for lack of coverage. For a period of 1–30 days, there is a fine of $50 per violation. This increases to $150 after 30 days, and again to $300 after 90 days.
Louisiana Teen Driving Laws: What Parents Should Know
Louisiana makes use of a graduated licensing system. Teenagers 15 years and older may obtain a learner's permit. Prior to receiving a permit, teen drivers must complete a state-approved driver education course, consisting of 30 hours of in-class training and 8 hours of actual driving. Once a permitted driver reaches the age of 17 and passes the Louisiana driving test, he or she is eligible for an unrestricted license.
Louisiana Registration Information
In order to register by mail, all documents and monies must be submitted simultaneously. The following items are required:
- Application for title (DPSMV 1799), properly completed and signed by the owner, showing the current physical Louisiana address. If the mailing address is a post office box or an out-of-state address, it must be shown as a mail-to address. Must list driver's license number or Federal EIN number (for companies) on application. The liability insurance declaration must be signed for motorized vehicles only.
- Check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety to cover fees and/or taxes.
- Military personnel should submit proof they are in military service.