Indiana Car Insurance and Coverage Requirements
What to Know About Auto Insurance Coverage in Indiana
Home to the Indianapolis 500, Indiana has a proud history celebrating the automobile. While you probably don't drive an Indy race car, you still need to have Indiana car insurance. In fact, there are many coverage options that you will want to consider when researching IN auto insurance. You can start your auto insurance quote online anytime.
Required Minimum Indiana Car Insurance Coverage
You are required to have the following coverage as part of your Indiana auto insurance policy:
- Bodily injury liability: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: Minimum of $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily Injury: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage: Minimum of $25,000 per accident*
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury: Minimum of $50,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
*Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverages can be rejected in writing.
Indiana Teen Driving Laws: Learner's Permit and Graduated Licensing
For teens that are approaching driving age, there are a few paths to receive an unrestricted driver's license.
If you are enrolled in an approved driver education program, you may practice driving only after the program has started, not before. You may only drive when accompanied by a certified driving instructor in the front seat of a vehicle equipped with dual brake controls, or with a parent, step-parent or guardian who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver's license, and is sitting in the vehicle's passenger seat.
Practice Time: Drivers with a Learner's Permit may apply for a Driver's License after 50 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed instructor, or family member who's a licensed driver over 25 years old. At least 10 of these supervised hours must be nighttime driving, and practice time must be maintained in a Log of Supervised Driving and presented to the BMV at the same time when applying for a driver's license.
If you are NOT enrolled in an approved driver education program, and are between the ages of 16 and 18, you may practice driving with a learner's permit only when a parent, guardian, step-parent or other relative who is 21 years of age or older. That individual must have a valid driver's license with them and must be seated in the front passenger seat.
If you are 18 years of age or older, you may practice driving with a learner's permit only when an individual with a valid driver's license in their possession is seated in your vehicle's front passenger seat. The applicant must hold a learner's permit a minimum of 60 days before applying for a driver's license.
While holding a restricted license, drivers are not allowed to operate a vehicle at night between the hours of 10:00 PM–5:00 AM for the first 180 days. After 180 days and until the driver reaches 18 years old, the restriction changes to 11 PM. On Fridays and Saturdays, the curfew extends to 1 am, and if you're driving to and from work, school or a religious function.
Texting while driving is illegal for all drivers in Indiana.
Indiana Registration Information
To register a vehicle in Indiana you need:
- Certificate of Origin
- Odometer Statement
- Proof of Insurance
- Verification of Social Security Number
Note: You will also have to apply for a title before the license branch can sell you a license plate.