Connecticut Car Insurance
Connecticut Car Insurance: The Basics
Connecticut may be one of the smaller states in the U.S., but it makes the most of its real estate. The Constitution State boasts prestigious universities, exciting casinos, picturesque beaches and pleasing attractions like the Mark Twain House & Museum and the Connecticut Science Center in Hartford.
There are so many places to visit in Connecticut, but there's a common theme; before you take Interstate 95 to check them out, you need car insurance in CT. Fortunately, you can get a Connecticut car insurance quote with GEICO in about 15 minutes.
Take a look at the facts below as you search for car insurance coverage in Connecticut that's a perfect fit for you. You can start your Connecticut car insurance quote online.
Learn More About Required Connecticut Car Insurance
Connecticut drivers must carry the following required minimum car insurance coverages and limits:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Connecticut Teen Driver Laws
In Connecticut, 16 and 17 year-old drivers must get a learner's permit to practice driving. Connecticut drivers 18 and older do not need to obtain a permit to practice.
Drivers practicing with a learner's permit may only have the following passengers in the vehicle with them:
- Parents or legal guardians
- A licensed driving instructor and others riding with the instructor or
- One person giving instruction who is at least 20 years old and has had a valid driver's license for four consecutive years
There is no curfew for drivers with a learner's permit, but the driver must always be accompanied by a qualified trainer. Learner's permit holders must complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training and complete an eight-hour driving safety course before applying for a license. Parents or legal guardians must attend a two-hour class about teen driving laws with their permit holder.
For the first six months after a 16 or 17 year-old gets his or her CT driver's license, the passenger restrictions are the same as for the learner's permit period. During the second six months, he or she may also drive with immediate family (i.e., siblings). Until the driver's 18th birthday, he or she may not drive between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM except for work, school, religious activities, or for a medical reason.
Connecticut Registration Information
Are you moving to CT and need to register your vehicle? You have 60 days to transfer your car's registration once you have established CT residency. The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website will provide you with the steps required, documents you will need, and office locations.
Are you already a resident and need to complete your renewal? The Connecticut DMV provides an Online Services Renewal.