North Dakota Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in North Dakota
There's a lot to see and do in North Dakota. Whether you're heading to the Dakota Zoo in Bismarck, the Roger Maris Museum in Fargo, or the Theodore Roosevelt National Park in Medora, you want to be safe out there on the roads. And part of being safe means having the right kind of auto insurance to protect you and your vehicle in the event of an accident. Get your North Dakota car insurance quote today to see how much you could save.
Common Driving Concerns in North Dakota
In 2011, North Dakota was ranked number one in the U.S. for percentage of vehicle fatalities in which a seat belt or safety restraint was not used. In fact, 69-percent of individuals killed in motor vehicle crashes in North Dakota were not wearing any safety restraints. Before your get behind the wheel, make sure you fasten your safety belt and require all passengers to do the same. Doing so may also qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance in North Dakota.
North Dakota Auto Insurance Requirements
North Dakota state law requires that all vehicles carry the following minimum insurance coverages:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Basic personal injury protection: $150 per week with a $30,000 maximum
North Dakota License Information
New to North Dakota? Get a driver's license:
- You must visit one of the Driver's License and Testing offices. For road tests you must have an appointment.
- Proof of current name and date of birth is required when applying for a North Dakota license. Birth Certificates, U.S. passports, temporary resident ID cards and valid foreign passports are acceptable forms of identification.
- For a complete list of accepted identification documents see the North Dakota driver's license and traffic safety website.
- Out-of-state permits, licenses, and ID cards will not be accepted as proof of name and date of birth.
- Applicable fees must be paid in order to take a written test, road test, or obtain a license.
North Dakota Teen Driving Laws
To obtain a North Dakota Learner's Permit, teens must be at least 14 years old and pass a written test. Holders of Learner's Permits may only drive while accompanied in the front passenger seat by a licensed driver 18 years of age or older. The accompanying licensed driver must have held a valid license for at least three years. If you received a Learner's Permit at 14 years old, you must hold the permit for at least 12 months before you are eligible to apply for a Restricted Driver's License. If you were 15 years old when you got your Learner's Permit, you must hold the permit for 6 months or until you turn 16 years old, whichever is longer.
Restricted Driver's License
Beginning at age 15, drivers may be eligible to apply for a Restricted Driver's License. Applicants must pass a safe driving practices knowledge test and a road test. Applicants under age 16 are also required to complete driver's education prior to the road test. This includes 30 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and 50 hours of logged supervised driving experience.
Drivers who hold a Restricted Driver's License may drive unsupervised except between sunset (or 9:00 PM, whichever is later) and 5:00 AM, except for school, work or religious activity.
Drivers may apply for an unrestricted license beginning at age 16.
We're here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The quickest way to contact us is through our app or online. You can also chat for immediate help.
Check Out a New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com