North Carolina Car Insurance
Recent Storm Victims
If you are a resident of Avery, Buncombe, Haywood, Madison, Transylvania, Watauga and Yancey county in NC and were impacted by Tropical Storm Fred, please call (800) 841-3000 for more info or to request assistance with billing.
Insuring Your Car In North Carolina
North Carolina might be known as the place of the first airplane flight, but the majority of the Tar Heel State still travels by car. That's where GEICO comes in. Whether you're buying a new car, getting an auto insurance quote, or just looking to switch to GEICO, we've got everything you need to make an informed decision. Keep these facts in mind as you look to find the auto insurance coverage that's right for you. You can get NC auto insurance quotes online, or call us at (800) 947-AUTO (2886) anytime.
According to North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT), every driver must have auto insurance to operate a vehicle. So before you take that drive to Kill Devil Hills to visit the Wright Brothers National Museum, check that you have valid proof of coverage in your vehicle. Otherwise, you could receive a citation if you are pulled over.
Required Coverage In North Carolina
The following coverage is required by the state of North Carolina to legally operate a motor vehicle:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: Minimum legal requirement $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: Minimum legal requirement $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist property damage: Minimum legal requirement $25,000
Maintaining Your NC Auto Insurance Coverage
If you let your car insurance coverage lapse or expire in North Carolina, your insurance company is required by law to notify the DMV. You will have 10 days to provide the DMV with current proof of coverage. Failure to do so could result in revocation of your license plates, as well as fines and fees.
North Carolina Registration Information
New residents of North Carolina must register your motor vehicle within 30 days or when gainful employment is accepted, whichever occurs first.
There are four steps in the North Carolina vehicle registration process:
- Obtain a North Carolina driver's license
- Gather correct documentation
- Satisfy North Carolina fee requirements for registration
- Provide proof of insurance coverage with satisfactory minimum limits of liability
North Carolina Teen Driving Laws
North Carolina makes use of a graduated licensing system and has a variety of restrictions for teenage drivers based on age, time of day and driving experience. Teens must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner's permit. After driving on a permit for twelve months, a driver may apply for a level two permit, which allows driving during the daytime without supervision. After six months with the level two permit, drivers may apply for a level three provisional full license.