Alaska Car Insurance
Car Insurance in Alaska: The Basics
Alaska is the largest state in the country and because of its remote and rugged climate, operating a vehicle here is much different for those accustomed to driving in the lower 48. Because roads only run to a relatively small portion of the state, much of Alaska is only accessible by plane or boat (like its capital, Juneau). For those who do drive the Alaska Highway or journey through Denali National Park, you have to have car insurance in Alaska. Fortunately, it only takes a few minutes to get an Alaska auto insurance quote with GEICO.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
Before you may drive legally in Alaska, you must prove financial responsibility. The easiest way to do this is to buy car insurance. You must carry your AK car insurance card in your car at all times.
Registration and Insurance Exceptions for Alaska drivers
In areas of Alaska where registration isn't required, neither is insurance, with the exception of drivers who have gotten a ticket for a violation of six points or greater in the last five years. Drivers who fall into that category must have AK liability insurance. Check with the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles to see if you live in an area that's exempt from required registration.
Learn More About Alaska Required Car Insurance
There are certain coverages that are required to drive legally in Alaska. Before you get on the road, you must have at least the following minimum coverages:
- Bodily injury liability: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident*
- Underinsured motorist property damage: $25,000*
*Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverages can be rejected in writing.
Alaska Teen Driver Laws
In Alaska, drivers must be at least 14 years old to obtain an instruction permit. Teens must hold a learner's permit for at least six months and complete 40 hours of supervised driving (including 10 hours at night or in inclement weather) before they can apply for a license.
Until a teen driver turns 18, he or she will get a provisional license, which prohibits the driver from riding with passengers under the age of 21 and from being on the road between 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM. Teens may drive during those hours if a driver older than 21 is in the car with them. Restrictions are lifted at age 18.
Alaska Vehicle Registration Information
Every vehicle in Alaska is required to be registered unless specifically exempted by law. The owner of a vehicle who is working in Alaska or is establishing residency in Alaska must apply for registration within ten days of entering the state or taking a job within the state. A non-resident may operate a vehicle with a current registration from another state for 60 days.
In order to register a vehicle in Alaska, an individual must submit:
- Current out-of-state registration
- Title (if there is no lienholder)
- An Inspections and Maintenance (I/M) certificate, if required
- Application for Title & Registration