Delaware Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Delaware
If you're new to Delaware or just looking for the best car insurance policy, GEICO has affordable rates and excellent customer service from dedicated insurance agents. Check Delaware auto insurance rates by getting a free quote online with GEICO and you could save up to 15%. Drivers in Delaware enjoy a variety of roads and scenery. You can see the Atlantic coast at the Seashore State Parks. There are lush, green hillsides outside of Wilmington and Hockessin, scenic countryside drives around Dover and deals to be had at the outlet stores in Rehoboth Beach. Wherever you drive in Delaware, make sure you have at least the minimum required auto insurance coverage.
Registering Your Car in Delaware
Drivers who move to Delaware need to be aware of some registration and car insurance rules that may be different from their previous state. To register your car in Delaware, you will need to show proof that you have car insurance. Be sure to inform GEICO of your new address so we can make sure that your auto insurance matches Delaware requirements for registration. You will need to change the title and register the vehicle at a DMV facility within 60 days. Once the title work is complete, and you provide proof of insurance, your vehicle will need to be inspected for safety and emissions. Safety inspections are free, and vehicles will need to be re-inspected every two years. Once the car passes this test, the vehicle registration can be issued or renewed.
Minimum Requirements for Delaware Car Insurance Coverage
The minimum limits of auto insurance coverage in Delaware are:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage: $10,000 per accident*
- Personal injury protection coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
*These coverages may be rejected in writing.
Teen Drivers in Delaware
Delaware teens looking to get their driver's licenses should become familiar with Delaware's teen driving laws. Graduated Driver License rules apply to drivers under age 18. To receive a learner's permit, a teen driver must be at least 16 years old. They must also complete a written exam, have proof of passing a driver education program, and be supervised by a licensed parent, guardian or driver at least 25 years old, with at least five years driving experience.
After six months, the driver becomes eligible for a restricted license. With the restricted license, teens cannot drive between 10:00 pm and 6:00 am (unless driving to or from work, school, or church) and cannot have more than one passenger (except for immediate family members) in the car with them. The permit will automatically convert to a Class D license once the permit holder has completed a full 12 months of valid driving.
Delaware Registration Information
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will begin introducing new Delaware titles, registration cards, registration validation stickers, and motorcycle license plates effective immediately.
The DMV will eliminate the current preprinted, multi-colored validation stickers. The new stickers will be one color and will be printed on new printers purchased by the DMV. The new stickers will have silver letters on a black background for those vehicles expiring on the 15th of the month, and black letters on a silver background for those vehicles expiring at the end of the month. The DMV will print the vehicle license plate number and any special license plate number on the stickers.
The DMV will also be issuing new motorcycle license plates. The new plates will have the "MC" placed in front of the number ("MC1234") instead of below the number.