Hawaii Car Insurance
GEICO is here to help during the Coronavirus outbreak.
To protect our customers and our associates, our Honolulu office is temporarily closed. We are still here to help you 24/7. You can manage your policy with GEICO Mobile or log in your policy. There are also other ways to contact us.
Information About Hawaii Car Insurance Coverage
As the largest auto insurer in Hawaii, GEICO is ready to help you get a fast and free car insurance quote to make sure you meet the minimum requirements for Hawaii auto insurance coverage. Whether you're driving to the summit of Mauna Loa or to a hidden gem like Makalawena Beach on the Big Island, you're going to need a Hawaii car insurance policy. GEICO has you covered with affordable coverage that comes with great customer service. So whether you're buying a new car, getting a quote or just looking to switch to GEICO, we've got the information you need to make the right decision. And don't forget, you can a car insurance quote online or call us at (800) 947-AUTO (2886) anytime.
Hawaii Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
Here are the minimum Hawaii auto insurance coverage requirements for the legal operation of an automobile in the state:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
- Basic personal injury protection: $10,000
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident*
*Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages can be rejected in writing.
Driving in Hawaii
As you might expect, driving in Hawaii can be much different from driving in other U.S. states. Luckily, Hawaii's Department of Transportation offers the Hawaii Driver's Manual, one of the most exhaustive guides to driving of any state. In it, Hawaiians can find information on licensing laws, traffic rules, and even suggestions for safe driving.
What Parents Should Know Regarding Teen Driving In Hawaii
Hawaii makes use of a graduated licensing system. Six months after a teen's 15th birthday, they may apply for a learner's permit. They must be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21 when practicing, or a parent or guardian if driving between the hours of 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. Between the ages of 16 and 18, a teen may apply for a provisional license. A teen with a provisional license cannot transport more than one passenger under the age of 18, and cannot drive between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. Teens can receive a full license at age 17 if all conditions of the provisional license have been met.
Note that moving violations or at-fault accidents for drivers under age 18 may lead to remedial restrictions including passenger limits, night-driving limits, or suspension of driving privileges.
Hawaii Registration Information
Hawaii does not have a statewide Department of Motor Vehicles. Vehicle Registration is managed by each county government.
For information please contact the local county government: