Idaho Car Insurance
Idaho Auto Insurance—Driving in ID
Idaho is home to a multitude of natural and man-made beauties. It's the 14th most expansive state in the U.S., and its area is larger than all of New England. Given that Idaho's landlocked (it's surrounded by six states and the Canadian province British Columbia) and so spacious, it's become an ideal place for back country driving. Before you take a trip to Railroad Ridge or tackle a back country ride from Yankee Fork to Loon Creek, make sure you have proper Idaho car insurance. Fortunately, you can get an Idaho car insurance quote with GEICO anytime.
Idaho Car Insurance—Important Rules to Know
Review these Idaho car insurance laws and double-check that you're properly insured before you go.
- Anyone who operates a vehicle in Idaho must have liability insurance, whether the vehicle is registered or not.
- If you're caught driving without car insurance in Idaho, you may receive a fine from $75 to $1,000. First-time offenders may also have to provide proof of financial responsibility up to an entire year.
- Any future convictions after an initial car insurance lapse is considered a misdemeanor and could result in a fine up to $1,000 and jail time for up to six months.
Learn More About Idaho Car Insurance Requirements
Your Idaho car insurance must include at least the following coverages:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $15,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
- Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
*Please note uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverages may be rejected by signing a form. A licensed GEICO agent will help assist you with this process.
Idaho Teen Driver Laws
Idaho has a Graduated Driver's License program. Teens may begin driving at 15. To start, teens must acquire a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP) and complete a six-month, violation-free supervised instruction period. Drivers holding a SIP must be accompanied by a passenger who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver's license. Once the teen driver completes 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be at night, he or she may apply for a driver's license.
Idaho Registration Information
To register a vehicle in Idaho:
- The vehicle must belong to an Idaho resident or business.
- The vehicle must be titled in Idaho before it can be registered. You can apply for vehicle registration immediately after submitting the required documents to a county assessor's motor vehicle office.
- If you are a new resident, you must register and title your vehicle(s) within 90 days. An Idaho resident is anyone whose principal home has been in Idaho for 90 continuous days, although residency may be declared at any time earlier, and vehicles may be titled and registered at that time. Idaho residents who are temporarily in another state (i.e., students or military personnel) may request titles and registrations for their vehicle(s) through the mail.
Award-Winning Customer Satisfaction
GEICO was awarded "Highest Customer Satisfaction Among Auto Insurers in The Northwest and North Central Regions" by J.D. Power.
For J.D. Power 2020 award information, visit jdpower.com/awards.