Maine Car Insurance
Auto Insurance in Maine with GEICO
A fun fact about Maine is that its coastline is 3,500 miles long. That's longer than a trip across the United States! Another fun fact: GEICO offers affordable Maine car insurance policies combined with great customer service. Before you cruise along the coastline to sample Maine's renowned lobsters, catch a Black Bears game, or check out the lighthouses in Cape Elizabeth, make sure you have the right car insurance. You can get a Maine auto insurance quote with GEICO anytime.
Maine Car Insurance Minimum Coverage Requirements
Do you know all there is to know about Maine car insurance laws? Take a look here to make sure you're properly covered. The state of Maine requires the following minimum required coverages for a car insurance policy:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Medical payments coverage: $2,000 per person
Maine Car Insurance Discounts
Maine drivers deserve auto insurance that offers great value and outstanding service - and GEICO is here to help! With a variety of discounts available to Maine drivers, you could save money while ensuring you're covered in the event of an accident. Discounts on auto premiums that may be available in the state include:
Learn how to save more with car insurance discounts that are available to eligible GEICO policyholders in Maine.
Maine Teen Driver Laws
In Maine, new drivers under the age of 18 must go through a Graduated Driver License System.
Teens in Maine may apply for a Learner's Permit at 15. Permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has had a license for at least two straight years.
At 16, a driver may apply for a Provisional Intermediate License. The teen must have had a permit for at least six months and had 70 hours of supervised driving practice with five of those hours occurring at night. Provisional Intermediate License holders may not drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM. Also, Maine Provisional Intermediate License holders may not drive with passengers except for immediate family members or a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old with a good driving record.
Teens may apply for an Unrestricted License after they've held their Provisional Intermediate License for 270 days. When the driver turns 16 years and nine months old, the passenger and nighttime driving restrictions are lifted.
Maine Vehicle Registration Information
Maine requires passenger vehicle registrations to be renewed annually. The owner is responsible for paying the municipal excise taxes at their town office before registration. If you need additional information about registering a motor vehicle or trailer, check the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles site.