South Dakota Car Insurance
Car Insurance in South Dakota
South Dakota is perhaps best known as the home of the Badlands, the Black Hills, and Mount Rushmore. It is also known for the annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally held in Sturgis, SD, which attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors every summer. Some of the most popular cities in South Dakota include Sioux Falls, Rapid City, and Yankton. Wherever your destination lies, make sure you have the right car insurance in South Dakota for your vehicle. The following information will help you make an informed decision as you get a South Dakota car insurance quote online.
South Dakota Auto Insurance—Mandatory Minimum Coverages
All motorists are required to carry the following minimum auto insurance coverage levels in South Dakota:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Car Insurance Discounts in South Dakota
GEICO offers competitive rates on South Dakota car insurance policies, but you may be able to save more. Check out some of the discounts that may be available on your South Dakota auto insurance policy.
South Dakota License Information
To obtain a South Dakota driver's license:
- Go to a South Dakota Exam Station and submit an application
- Take your out-of-state license and proof of lawful status in the United States
- Provide two documents proving your residential/physical address
- Confirm driving privileges by examiner
- Have a vision screening
When completed, you will be issued a South Dakota license that will be valid for five years. The cost of the license is $28.00.
A non-resident moving into the state has 90 days to register and title a vehicle. When registering a vehicle, a 4% motor vehicle tax is required to acquire proper license plates and tags. The vehicle must be registered at the county treasurer's office in the county where the vehicle owner resides. Registrations are renewed annually; the renewal schedule is based on the first letter in the last name of the vehicle owner.
South Dakota Teen Driving Laws
Teens may be eligible to apply for a South Dakota Learner's Permit beginning at age 14. They must pass a knowledge test or have successfully completed a state-approved driver education course. The learner's permit must be held for a minimum of 275 days or 180 days if an approved driver education class has been successfully completed. All driving must be done under the supervision of a licensed adult.
Restricted Minor's Permit
To be eligible for a restricted minor's permit, the driver cannot have had any traffic convictions in the last six months. The driver must pass a driver's test or have successfully completed a state-approved driver education course.
The restricted minor's permit allows the holder to drive unaccompanied only between the hours of 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM. Between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM, the driver must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. The driver is also limited to the number of passengers allowed in the vehicle.