Vermont Car Insurance
Car Insurance in Vermont
One of the most important roads in Vermont's history no longer allows cars. Church Street, located in Burlington, is now known as the Church Street Marketplace, one of the most famous pedestrian malls in the nation. While you can no longer drive there, you'll need a car for a drive around Rutland, further north of Montpelier, or as far south as Bennington. Be sure your vehicles are covered by the right car insurance in Vermont. Check Vermont car insurance rates by getting a free quote with GEICO.
Winter Driving in Vermont
Winters in Vermont bring a lot of snow. In fact, Mount Mansfield sees an average of over 20 feet of snow every year! Accidents are more prone to happen in ice and snow, make sure you're covered with Vermont auto insurance. Even if you live in an area that has great snow removal, you need to take extra care and plan carefully before driving in these conditions. While it's important to practice safe driving and stock the proper supplies in your car in case you're ever stranded, your car may also need additional modifications for driving in heavy snow. The Vermont State Police recommend having good snow tires on all four wheels, and if you need more traction, both tire chains and studded tires are allowed.
Vermont Car Insurance Requirements
Here are the minimum requirements for car insurance in Vermont:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage: $10,000 with a $150 deductible (In some cases the deductible does not apply)
Planning to travel to Canada?
Vermont shares nearly 90 miles of the border between Canada and the United States. Driving between the two countries is allowed through 15 border crossings. If you plan to cross the border, you'll need a U.S. Passport, U.S. Passport Card or an Enhanced Driver's License (EDL). EDLs can be obtained directly from the Vermont DMV and will allow you to cross the border without needing a passport. Be sure you also have your insurance ID card with you (your GEICO insurance ID cards will be sufficient proof of insurance in Canada).
Vermont Car Insurance Discounts
Along with great rates, GEICO has a number of discounts that could save you money. Check out some of the discounts that may be available on your Vermont auto insurance policy.
Teen Drivers in Vermont
Vermont teens looking to get their driver's licenses should become familiar with Vermont's teen driving laws. Young drivers under age 18 must first complete driver's education and pass a road test. To receive a learner's permit, a teen driver must be at least 15 years old and complete a knowledge test. After one year, the driver becomes eligible for a provisional license. The minimum age for a full license is 16 years, 6 months.
Vermont Registration Information
Recently moved to Vermont?
A resident who has moved to Vermont from another jurisdiction must register their vehicles within 60 days of moving into Vermont.
You must provide the Department of Motor Vehicles with the following:
- A completed Registration Application form (#TA-VD-119)
- The title to the vehicle
- An updated (current) odometer reading
- Proof of the dollar amount of tax paid on the vehicle to any previous state
- A "Visual Verification of Serial Number"
- Payment of the proper fees
Note: If the title to the vehicle is being held by the lienholder you must provide DMV with the full name and address of the lienholder.