GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,215 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Terrible online experience

By Kelrod on April 07, 2017 policyholder

I went online to make my payment that was due. I wanted to change coverage before I did so but there was no link to do this from the payments page I was on. I just went ahead and made the payment because it was due. Extremely disappointed!
  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Inaccurate Quote Led to Wasted Time and Frustratio

By Frustrated40 on March 24, 2017 policyholder

Final price was 40% above original quote. After receiving a quote online and then over the phone from a sales agent, I made the decision to switch from my carrier of 25 years to Geico. During the quoting process, we discussed at length a recent accident which my daughter had (the reason our previous carrier had increased our rates). The sales agent could see the accident on his system and assured me that it would have little or no effect on the price after underwriting. However, after submitting paperwork on the accident our premium was raised by just over 40% nearly matching the quote from our previous insurer. It was a total waste of my time and energy to switch. Make sure to get an underwritten quote before switching.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Stay away

By jenembers on March 13, 2017 policyholder claim

Great for everything-except when you go to make a claim. Received very poor communication from the claims department. Have been told different coverage on every phone call. Very disappointed & will be moving carriers once this is resolved.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Way too expensive

By kaaaaaaaaaa on March 03, 2017 policyholder

This insurance company is way too expensive. I haven't had an accident in over 5 years and the premium still wont go down!

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

insurance over priced

By ayah on February 23, 2017 policyholder claim

horrible prices,, I cannot get other quotes because if you are fault or not they consider it under you and when you try to get other insurance they list all accidents as your fault .. and you cannot find lower insurance very unfair .. you are locked in with geico

Saved $1 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Bad Customer Support

By on February 22, 2017 policyholder claim

While disappointed in the rate increase and discussing it with an agent, when I asked to speak to his boss, he hung up on me.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Customer Service for online users

By Sharijada on February 15, 2017 policyholder claim

What is the point of scheduling a future payment if it tries to take the money the second you hit the button. My pay is in on the 20th. But when I tried to schedule a payment for the 20th. You requested it from the bank as soon as I hit the button. Just another annoying thing with Geico. So I have to remember to do it on Monday because your stupid system won't let me do it now. Shari H.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

horrible customer service

By nursemk on February 10, 2017 policyholder

They charged me my 6 month premium without my authorization and knowledge. I called in to pay the 6 month premium and they informed me that it had already been paid. I never got an email or notification saying the amount was paid. The only reason I gave them my bank account information was because the geico agent said that they needed it to hold the new account being set up. I even made sure I would not be charged using that bank account because I knew there would not be sufficient funds. The supervisor and manager did not to anything to help me even though I had the inconvenience of calling back and forth between my bank and geico. Also, they did not do anything about the automatic payment without my authorization. They then, after I had resolved the overdraft issue, charged me my 6 month premium a second time which caused another overdraft. This was after I had paid my 6 month premium in full. I even told them to go back to that days recording of our conversation because I made sure I asked that my bank account would not be charged automatically. Very unprofessional and the agents are not properly trained.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

premiums keep increasing even for safe driving

By abluepelican on January 25, 2017 policyholder

every 6 months my premium went up a measly $2 a month. but it adds up...to $24 a year a reward for being a safe driver. also there is a convenience fee of $5 a month to have automatic withdrawals taken out of a checking account...another $60 a year.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Policy for existing customer terrible

By on January 04, 2017 policyholder

Your policy for increasing rates for existing customer who never claimed a single penny sucks.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/Fairness
Customer Service