GEICO Reviews and Ratings from Insurance Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Read about experiences that our insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, online transactions, and more. If you’re looking for car insurance, check out our reviews to help you make the right choice. GEICO's helped consumers meet their auto insurance needs since 1936, and we're proud to offer exceptional service to all our insurance policyholders.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,811 Reviews)

GEICO Reviews for Car Insurance

2 out of 5 star rating
Charged to pay

By Lurthor on October 02, 2020 policyholder claim

So as it turns out i was charged to pay them since i set up auto pay my guess over a year ago or more. $5.00 a month to pay by debit card. no where did it say this when I set up auto pay. but i saw it on my timeline when adding another vehicle today. 5.00 per month for sending bills and processing.. i have e-bill . I chatted with someone who say no matter what you get charged even with direct checking pull its $1.00 fee. seriously you make us pay you to take out money?
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
Service

By Disastified on September 28, 2020 policyholder

Contacting Geico through 3 different phone numbers offered is terribel since all numbers connect to same system, put on hold too long and have no service for returning calls. Also, the account website don't is limited to questions to be addressed. The chat service don't properly assist.
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating

By on September 03, 2020 policyholder claim

I have two cars, homeowners and flood insurance with your company. I find it very difficult to ask questions and have my policies serviced. The wait times on your phone service is very very long. Your web page is informative but when a mistake is found it is impossible to change. The site needs to be reconstructed to allow for more interface of parties.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Geico App

By RANAAN on August 26, 2020 policyholder claim

Geico App takes longer to load information. Once a person logs in, it shows different symbols of home, car, motorcycle, etc for (loading is usually more than 5-7 minutes) Please consider making changes to the app. Customers use the app on their phones for common purpose such as billing or policy cards. Geico website is way better. Thank You
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

2 out of 5 star rating
In chat queue at position 39.

By Alouicious on August 25, 2020 policyholder claim

I waited in chat room at position 39. Took 10 mins but I got down to position #3 and session timed me out! Bullpoopy!
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
If you ever NEED to talk to customer service- Nope

By TJTJ on August 25, 2020 policyholder claim

I've been a happy customer for several years. The one time that I need to talk to a representative, I find that there is absolutely no way to communicate with GEICO. The Online chat has been closed for days. By Phone, at 30 minutes of waiting, I hung up. Extremely frustrating! The note next to this review says If I have customer service issues, send an email rather than leave a review. Of course, there is no email address given. I'd love to communicate with them. TJ
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
They change your policy without a reason

By Jaclyn on August 07, 2020 policyholder claim

When i changed states they changed my policy and made it worse. Then i got a new car because my older car died and my rates went through the roof again without a reason. Geico might save you money when you first become a customer and their claim service is pretty smooth but as a whole im not satisfied. Not being notified or told that policy changes are being made or reasons why your cost is going up is not something i am ok with.
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Over Charging Customers

By Jwalkin on July 29, 2020 policyholder

Compared to Progressive, almost DOUBLE PREMIUM for SAME COVERAGE. NO loyalty to long term customers. Bottom line .....there are better companies willing to fair price coverage/policies or services.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

2 out of 5 star rating
Wait time to speak with someone was long !!

By Judi61 on July 16, 2020 policyholder

I called two different telephone numbers, (800)841-3000 and (877)206-0215. I waited on the telephone on each of these numbers for over 11 minutes each time and was unable to remove one of my vehicles from insurance coverage. I never was able to speak with a customer service representative.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

2 out of 5 star rating
Customer service online and off gone downhill

By Sangha on July 11, 2020 policyholder claim

When hit by a reckless driver, I notified my insurer, Geico. Enrolled in paperless, I have no hard copy of my policy. The agent suggested I file with Geico for a rental car, but did not inform me of the 2-week rental car limit. Injured, it took 6 weeks for me to find a used car. I have been with Geico 25+ years, yet do not get sent notices of other needed services not covered in my high coverage limits policy. Geico's website makes finding those policy details and a Declarations page impossible to find and print. Am not pleased with Geico's customer service.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%