GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,238 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

3 out of 5 star rating
Increased rates

By RateIncrease on March 25, 2015 policyholder claim

After a fender bender (backing into someone), my insurance went up. I'm very disappointed in this. I could have paid for the damages to the other persons car for less than what my insurance went up.
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating

By GhostRider1944 on November 18, 2014 policyholder

MY payment should be going down, why isn't it???????????
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Insurance is affordable

By on November 17, 2014 policyholder

However i have had this insurance for over 7 years since 2007 and they have never decreased my premium even though i have never had a claim?
  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

3 out of 5 star rating
Reduced my payments

By Gone1away on November 09, 2014

Reduced my payments by $500 per year when I changed with same or better coverage. Geico must review discounts allowed to be competitive with my current insurance. Refund was sooner than expected being credited before cancellation date. Thanks.
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Rate went up

By Dbattle on November 04, 2014 policyholder

I was very happy with Geico for the first year. However, I just got an email telling me my monthly payment will be going up $15. I have never been in a wreck that was fault and have never gotten a speeding ticket. I figured my rate should decrease. That is really the only problem I have had so far with them. I will stay loyal for a little while longer and maybe it will payoff.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 100%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
Reimbursement Rental Car insurance

By LuckyLarry on October 23, 2014 claim

PayLess Rental McCoy St. Orlando, Fld wouldn"t accept Fax from Geico on or about 10-14/15-2014. Claim they never got Fax. Would accept $135.00 paid for their Insurance! as reimbursment
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
Tech suppory

By Justn on October 15, 2014 policyholder

Hey this is for tech support, I can't find a link so yeah... Every time I log in, I have to "change" my password in order to log into my account. I haven't changed my password for this site in two years. I go through the process of "forgetting my password," getting an email to change my password, which I retype the same password i have always used and then can log in. It would be nice if i didn't have to go through this process. Can I get a suggestion? Thanks

Saved $20 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
Web Site

By abcdefgh on October 14, 2014

Your web site is atrocious. I have spent entirely too much time trying to figure out how long my coverage duration is. Everything is spread out and have to constantly have to switch between pages. It may make sense to someone who works in the insurance fields, however to an everyday individual trying to work through what one would think to be "intuitive" is not.
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
really difficult to edit coverage online

By bmwpoints on September 24, 2014

My policy had taken a steep rate hike and all the coverage amounts had crept up as well. I wanted to just get the California minimum requirements but the online edit policy feature refused to let me go that far. A call to Geico's 877 number gave me what I wanted once I manoeuvred past the answer-bot and spoke with a human
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Car insurance

By Sangopalm on September 23, 2014 policyholder claim

Agents will put you on hold without notice while they ask someone else the answers to your questions. Often unable to give clear answers. Lack sympathy and understanding.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%