GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5 (13,215 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

Auto insrance rate

By SESOKC on September 17, 2014 policyholder

My premium went up and nothing has changed. No wrecks and same car; I was warned before I changed to Geico that the premiums would go up without reason.

Saved $120 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

It's Ok

By on September 06, 2014 policyholder claim

Honestly, I cannot stand pressing a mass amount of numbers before getting a live person!
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

slow response after first contact

By gmdean on September 03, 2014 policyholder claim

First respose after submitting claim via app was very quick, like in an hour quick. The adjuster or whatever, Shannon called Friday morning I was at work but asked her to call after two. She never called back. I called on Tuesday, Monday was a holiday. She diidn't return my call and the call was not routed to anyone else. She called me Wednesday morning making excuses she was off tuesday there was no one else to call me. I had been trying to find out about medical treatment she told me i didn't have medical! Guess I only have uninsured motoist medical. When I told her the other insurance had accepted responibility she basically started blowing me off it seemed but like I said I was at work...I was helping my clients while trying to talk with her I am not satisfied that all my questions are answered but didn't think she would actually call me back since she didn't before I have had more questions answered by the other insurance company than the one that is supposed to be on my side. I have had more contact with the other insurance company than the one that is supposed to be on my side
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

This is not helpful with a specific question

By Quarterback on September 03, 2014 policyholder

I have a question regarding why my premium changed from the Declarations Page dated Aug. 24, 2014 to the Declarations Page dated Aug. 28, 2014. I have looked through this site and cannot find how to have my question answered...very frustrating.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

policy renewal.

By dahhhh on August 26, 2014

Normally I get an email notifying me of the upcoming electronic withdrawal. Did not get an email of upcoming withdrawal. Had I not checked policy, would not have known of the electronic withdrawal that took place today. Wow. What's up with that?
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

By abandaman on August 06, 2014 policyholder claim

if trying to contact geico by e-mail the page just takes you in a circle back to faq's
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Lacking Important Resource...

By ConcernedPolicyHolder on July 20, 2014 policyholder claim

I'm a newish policy holder with GEICO and I also work in auto claims for another insurance company, so I have some training and education in the industry. I wish GEICO had a resource available to policy holders where I could present a scenario to see if it may be covered under the coverages attached to my policy WITHOUT filing a claim. Plus, it was a strange experience asking the company the question. The first person I got connected with I informed of my reason for calling and they said they could help me. I presented my scenario and then they quickly responded that they would have to get me over to claims as they aren't a claim representative. I was then transferred to claims and after I informed the 2nd rep. about why I was calling, I was first told that she could not access my coverages and review them with me unless I file a claim. I then specifically asked if there was a resource available to me to ask coverage questions of w/out filing a claim and she said there was not, so I ended the call. I know some companies just want to get the claims filed and then have other teams or department determine if there is coverage available, but I don't like gumming up the works with claims when there is clearly no coverage. Just seems strange to me, but regardless, the customer service was somewhat lacking.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Telephone contact

By njdave on July 08, 2014 policyholder

Operators are are very polite but too willing to transfer you to someone else or worse, to put you back into the Voicemail system so you are back where you started. This has happened several times and is extremely frustrating
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

i am unable to submit payment

By mrsafetyman110 on June 16, 2014 policyholder claim

system will not accept online payment with MC/Check card. I dont understand the lack of concern and issue with Geico not correcting such a problem with online payments. My card is NOT an issue its Geico not accepting it Asked me 20 times to recheck the card number yet wont take my payment. I tried to pay my bill as always this way but geico system is not accepting it again!
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service

Great - unless you are having financial problems

By NETAB on June 04, 2014 policyholder

Geico has great rates as long as you never have a financial problem. I use to receive excellent customer service when I called in until I went through a financial hard time, and, yes, my payment was late a few times (illness and divorce), and when my coverage lapsed for less than a month - Geico customer service went down the toilet - and raised my rates up quite a bit. Every person I spoke to had a bad attitude and was uncooperative. I constantly heard "I am so sorry....but basically, too bad!" Horrible customer service when I needed them most.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim Service
Value/Fairness
Customer Service