GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,277 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

3 out of 5 star rating
Tech suppory

By Justn on October 15, 2014 policyholder

Hey this is for tech support, I can't find a link so yeah... Every time I log in, I have to "change" my password in order to log into my account. I haven't changed my password for this site in two years. I go through the process of "forgetting my password," getting an email to change my password, which I retype the same password i have always used and then can log in. It would be nice if i didn't have to go through this process. Can I get a suggestion? Thanks

Saved $20 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
Web Site

By abcdefgh on October 14, 2014

Your web site is atrocious. I have spent entirely too much time trying to figure out how long my coverage duration is. Everything is spread out and have to constantly have to switch between pages. It may make sense to someone who works in the insurance fields, however to an everyday individual trying to work through what one would think to be "intuitive" is not.
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
really difficult to edit coverage online

By bmwpoints on September 24, 2014

My policy had taken a steep rate hike and all the coverage amounts had crept up as well. I wanted to just get the California minimum requirements but the online edit policy feature refused to let me go that far. A call to Geico's 877 number gave me what I wanted once I manoeuvred past the answer-bot and spoke with a human
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
Car insurance

By Sangopalm on September 23, 2014 policyholder claim

Agents will put you on hold without notice while they ask someone else the answers to your questions. Often unable to give clear answers. Lack sympathy and understanding.
  • Gender: FAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
BEWARE! THIS COULD HAPPEN TO YOU!

By Victimofuninsuredmotorist on September 20, 2014 policyholder claim

I was happy with Geico until my accident. I guess “15 minutes could save you 15% on car insurance” but it can also cost you as well. I have always paid my insurance bill on time and kept good coverage and consider myself a good driver but I still had to come out of pocket when someone hit me. A $500 deductible was one of my expenses. I was stopped at a traffic light when another driver clipped the back of my car. The driver gave the officer an insurance card and claimed he had insurance. BEWARE! This could happen to you. I paid my deductible to get my car fixed thinking I would get reimbursed for my out of pocket expense. Come to find out the driver that hit me had not been paying his insurance for the last six months. Apparently this is something people easily get away with now days. They apply for insurance, pay their down payment, get the insurance card and then don't make anymore payments but if they get pulled over or get in an accident they at least have a card to present the officer. Learn from my experience; call that insurance company immediately to see if they are current on their payments because the card means nothing. I read an article recently that estimated that one in every four drivers in Florida is possibly driving without insurance. Florida is ranked 2nd in the nation when it comes to uninsured drivers, having an estimated 3.2 million uninsured drivers. After my accident I used one of Geico's auto body repair shops to fix my vehicle. When I received my vehicle back, I was expecting some new parts on my 2011 car considering the back quarter panel was smashed in and the bumper cover was damaged from the accident. Not so, my car was just fixed with bondo and paint and I often have to re-align the bumper cover because it's loose now. After I got news from the other driver's non insurance company I contacted Geico to see what was going to happen. They said they would contact the other driver to see what they could do to get reimbursement for my out of pocket expenses. I got a call back from Geico saying the other driver was very cooperative and agreed to pay for damages. I felt relieved but still disappointed about the bondo on my vehicle and the fact that I now have an even more depreciated newer vehicle. A few months later a got another call from Geico saying that the uninsured driver that hit me was no longer being cooperative and that they are refusing to pay. It's been almost a year since my accident and I can't tell you how many times this past year that I could have used that $500 deductible which was practically all my savings. It's scary to think that there are those like me that carry the proper insurance coverage or above that is required by law and still have to come out of pocket when involved in an accident when some other driver was at fault. To make it even more scarier, the same driver and others like them could still be out there and it isn't costing them a dime. Remember the recent study...... 1 in 4 drivers are possibly uninsured. BEWARE!
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

3 out of 5 star rating
Auto insrance rate

By SESOKC on September 17, 2014 policyholder

My premium went up and nothing has changed. No wrecks and same car; I was warned before I changed to Geico that the premiums would go up without reason.

Saved $120 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

3 out of 5 star rating
It's Ok

By on September 06, 2014 policyholder claim

Honestly, I cannot stand pressing a mass amount of numbers before getting a live person!
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
slow response after first contact

By gmdean on September 03, 2014 policyholder claim

First respose after submitting claim via app was very quick, like in an hour quick. The adjuster or whatever, Shannon called Friday morning I was at work but asked her to call after two. She never called back. I called on Tuesday, Monday was a holiday. She diidn't return my call and the call was not routed to anyone else. She called me Wednesday morning making excuses she was off tuesday there was no one else to call me. I had been trying to find out about medical treatment she told me i didn't have medical! Guess I only have uninsured motoist medical. When I told her the other insurance had accepted responibility she basically started blowing me off it seemed but like I said I was at work...I was helping my clients while trying to talk with her I am not satisfied that all my questions are answered but didn't think she would actually call me back since she didn't before I have had more questions answered by the other insurance company than the one that is supposed to be on my side. I have had more contact with the other insurance company than the one that is supposed to be on my side
  • Gender: FAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 5 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

3 out of 5 star rating
This is not helpful with a specific question

By Quarterback on September 03, 2014 policyholder

I have a question regarding why my premium changed from the Declarations Page dated Aug. 24, 2014 to the Declarations Page dated Aug. 28, 2014. I have looked through this site and cannot find how to have my question answered...very frustrating.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%

3 out of 5 star rating
policy renewal.

By dahhhh on August 26, 2014

Normally I get an email notifying me of the upcoming electronic withdrawal. Did not get an email of upcoming withdrawal. Had I not checked policy, would not have known of the electronic withdrawal that took place today. Wow. What's up with that?
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 60%