GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,219 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
Automatic Payment - Issues

By PleaseRead on September 27, 2011

When you change your credit card half way through on automatic payment it picks the old card and not the new one. You need to make that change on your website so I dont have to get reminders saying I havent paid my bill although I have automatic payer set up with my new card. What's the point having automatic payment set up if it doesnt pull from the correct card? Rating it bad so you read this and make the change
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Horrible Experience

By beege24 on September 19, 2011 policyholder claim

The only reason I still have them is because they are what I can afford and it's awful how I am paying an arm and a leg for it every month and it doesnt cover me for anything!!!! All of the representatives are horrible, they dont care about you or your accident or what position you're in. A few months ago I was in accident and heard from Geico a few times, but was on the phone everyday with the other persons insurance. Then Geico closes my claim for lack of contact! Ya oon their part!
  • Gender: F
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
charged my account dry

By GiecoBrokeTheBank on September 12, 2011

using the online features at geico.com is incredibly frustrating and confusing. logging in with your account number is an ordeal, as the information box for login information is no where to be found. once you do finally access it, the content inside is just as confusing. The worst was when i understood that i changed my payment plan to much less than it was, and they kept charging me full price for the next four months draining my account dry. worse was getting a call from geico that woke me up this morning saying my payment bounced. way to go geico.
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

1 out of 5 star rating
Good unless you have a claim - rates sky rocket !

By Tami on September 10, 2011 policyholder claim

Had one claim of 1300.00 with a past excellent driving history and my rate sky rocketed! The increase over three years is more than the 800.00 they paid out after my deductible. So in other words, my monthly premium is stealing! An excellent driving history doesn't count at all

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 2 years
Claim ServiceRating: 80%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
my claim

By midnightspecial42 on September 08, 2011 policyholder claim

I always thought Geico was the best Insurance company out there until i had a claim,to find out that was a very bad experience.
  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

1 out of 5 star rating
They raise rates too much

By c10123 on September 06, 2011 policyholder

You guys need a reality check

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
Bad Claim processing

By Customer2Gei on September 02, 2011 policyholder claim

Had an accident two days back and have to wait until 4 days to get the estimate done. Its not the accident that is stress full, its the claim process.
  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 100%

1 out of 5 star rating
Bad Claim Experience

By DeservedBetterinAZ on August 25, 2011 policyholder claim

After doing all of the legwork to get the police report and the other at fault driver's info and turning it in to Geico to get my deductible refunded, I get an e-mail telling me I qualify for early deductible refund without proof of not being at fault because I am a great customer. I get another e-mail the next day saying that the claim is in subrogation and it could take months to get my deductible refunded.. Great service would have been to refund my deductible immediately and properly go after the at-fault driver. Sorry Geico, this experience did not live up to your TV hype.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 15 years or more
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Really UNFAIR claims policy

By Dudestop on August 16, 2011 policyholder claim

My BRAND NEW 2011 A4 got wrecked! The front fender was creased in 4 places and they didn't give me a new fender, instead want to repair it. For gods sake, its a 2days old car and they want to put a repaired fender on there which is creased and destroyed. Its just terrible, how they treat you when they have to give you money, and how different it is when they want money from YOU...like day n night difference!
  • Gender: M
  • Years insured with GEICO: 3 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Buyer be aware

By nogeicoforme on August 14, 2011

Geico is great when you don't need them and not when you do.
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 40%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%