GEICO Reviews And Ratings From Customers

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read GEICO reviews and experiences that auto insurance customers have had with customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.

Average Customer Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 / 5 (13,247 reviews)

Customer Reviews for Car Insurance

1 out of 5 star rating
The price was not as quoted

By Lovey33 on March 23, 2012 policyholder

Although GEICO reserves the right to change rates, this is as low as you can go. After 3 weeks of back and forth with GEICO and competing companies, we chose GEICO for pricing and reviews. After completing all information truthfully on line and with an agent and paying the policy in full (or so I thought), and receiving documents and insurance verification, I happened to double check my bill on line and found I owed more! After checking with numerous agents I was informed that a non-point traffic ticket "10 YEARS" ago caused our rate to change. So, BUYER BEWARE! We will be checking again at renewal time to see what happens.
  • Gender: FAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
Claims Are Not Paid

By Dissapointed2012 on March 22, 2012 policyholder claim

Geico collects premiums but will not pay claims.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 35-44
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
They do not work with their long term customers.

By Blainesmom on March 15, 2012 policyholder claim

I've been with Geico for quite some time now, and I'm forced to stay with them because when you go to other insurance companies if you have an accident on your record because Florida is a no fault state, your premium is almost triple my mortgage payment. My policy premium doesn't seem to be getting any better, and they have not tried to work with me what so ever, I'm a single mother that works full time, and 300 dollars a month is insane to pay a month, I barely get by. The only thing they can do to lower my payment is if I drop certain things of my policy or up my deductible which I will not do for only 7-10 dollars off my payment. I know premiums are more expensive in Florida because it is a no fault state and the highest for fraudulent lawsuits for accidents, but I would have hoped since I have been a customer of theirs for so long, they would help me out.
  • Gender: FAge: 18-24
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 80%

1 out of 5 star rating
Poor Billing Practices

By UnhappyinVA on March 08, 2012 policyholder

I only get notified of my bill when it is overdue. I don't receive a letter or email indicating a payment is due. This has happened for the last few payment. What's up.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 10-14 years
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
Too Expensive

By SoUnhappy on March 08, 2012 policyholder

Just too expensive and keeps going up. For someone on a budget it is not a company I would recommend

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: FAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 6-9 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
I never would have switched

By on March 04, 2012 policyholder

I never would have switched had I known how difficult the process was. I should have stayed with State Farm. The small money savings was NOT worth all of the aggevation.
  • Gender: M
Value/FairnessRating: 60%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%

1 out of 5 star rating
I am very disappointed with your service.

By jeustor on February 11, 2012 policyholder

I am very unhappy with your service. In Jan. I was quoted a price for my coverage online. I then called to make sure that my coverage was what I requested. I needed the absolute cheapest coverage as I am currently unemployed and struggling to make ends meet. Everything was verified online and then by phone. My coverage was to be $147 a month and agreed for this amount to be debited from my account and nothing more. On Feb. 8th you debited my account for $360. After calling to find out why, I was told that because I did not sign and return a piece of paper, that I was NOT informed I needed to sign and return when I called originally to confirm the coverage, my coverage was changed to a higher coverage without my consent nor any notification of a higher payment amount. So you debited my account for a higher amount for a higher coverage I did not agree to. When I mentioned this to your customer service rep, I was informed that you could not refund the additional money you debited from my account. So you basically took extra money from my account without my consent all because I did not sign and return a piece of paper? I was guided to do this online by your rep yesterday with an electronic signature. Why was I not guided to do this originally when I; 1) signed up online 2) called to confirm I had the cheapest coverage. Instead of having to sign something in package I received with NO INDICATION that you would increase my coverage if I did not. I am VERY DISAPPOINTED with you and your service. You took money form MY ACCOUNT without MY CONSENT to do so.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 45-54
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating

By onceinawhile on January 17, 2012 policyholder

If you have an account with Geico you can not add another vehicle on-line.
  • Gender: MAge: 55andOver
  • Years insured with GEICO: 1 year
Claim ServiceRating: 60%
Value/FairnessRating: 80%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
nickel and diming us!

By cvmcvm on January 16, 2012

My pay certainly isn't increasing. Why the heck every six months does my premium increase? Captive audience? I think this inflation is artificial and is totally crazy. I hope that in six months my premium will be the same as the one I just paid.. I am not happy about this.
  • Gender: M
Claim ServiceRating: 20%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 20%

1 out of 5 star rating
regrets.

By ferdinand on January 16, 2012 policyholder claim

customer service is useless.

Saved $0 by Switching to GEICO

  • Gender: MAge: 25-34
  • Years insured with GEICO: 4 years
Claim ServiceRating: 40%
Value/FairnessRating: 20%
Customer ServiceRating: 40%