Georgia Car Insurance
What to Know About Car Insurance in Georgia
If you're driving in Georgia, you may find yourself caught in the busy traffic of Atlanta, touring the historic squares and roundabouts of Savannah, or discovering one of the many historic Civil War driving routes. Wherever you drive in the state of Georgia, you must have car insurance for your vehicle. You can get a Georgia auto insurance quote from GEICO right from your computer.
Important Facts about Georgia Auto Insurance and Driving Laws
- Georgia passed a Move-Over Law that requires drivers to move over one lane if an emergency vehicle with flashing lights is parked on the shoulder of the highway. If traffic is too heavy to move over safely, the law requires drivers to slow down below the posted speed limit and be prepared to stop. A violation of this law is considered a moving violation, which could result in points on a driver's record and a fine up to $500.
- Georgia has two state agencies related to motor vehicles. The Department of Driver Services handles driver's licenses and permits. The Motor Vehicle Division of the GA Department of Revenue handles vehicle registrations, license plates and certificates of title. Car owners in Georgia must show proof of insurance in order to register their vehicles.
- Texting while driving is banned in Georgia except in the case of emergencies or when drivers are fully parked. The fine for conviction is $150. Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using any wireless device while driving. This includes cell phones, computers, and all texting devices.
Required Minimum Georgia Auto Insurance Coverage
Georgia law requires that all drivers must have at least the following required minimum auto insurance coverages for your vehicle:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury*: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage*: $25,000 with a $250, $500, or $1000 deductible
Due to the rising costs of healthcare and auto repair, your GEICO insurance agent may recommend higher liability limits to better protect your financial interests. Be sure to discuss all your options with a licensed agent if you're unsure of the best coverage levels for you.
Georgia Laws for Teen Drivers
In Georgia, 15-year-olds can get an instructional permit once they pass a written examination. The permit holder can drive only when accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age.
After holding an instructional permit for 1 year and 1 day, meeting the driver's education requirements of "Joshua's Law" (see below) and passing a driving test, teens between the ages of 16 and 18 may get an intermediate (Class D) driver's license in GA. Intermediate license holders may not drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 AM. For the first six months, only immediate family members can ride in the vehicle. After six months, one passenger under 21 who is not a family member is permitted. After 12 months, three passengers under 21 who are not family members are permitted.
Beginning January 1, 2007, Georgia enacted "Joshua's Law" (Senate Bill 226), requiring all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D (intermediate) driver's license to complete an approved driver education course and have a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these requirements have been met. Seventeen-year-olds are exempt from the driver education requirement but must meet the same supervised driving requirement, with the same verification.
At age 18, a driver can apply for a Class C full driver's license, provided the driver has had no major traffic convictions during the previous 12 months. It is worth noting that anyone under 18 who has withdrawn from school, has 10 unexcused absences, or any conduct infractions cannot apply for or keep a GA driver's permit or license.
Georgia Registration Information
As a Georgia resident, you must register your vehicles and apply for Georgia certificates of title, when a Georgia title is required, within thirty (30) days of establishing residency in this state at the Tax Commissioner's Office in the county in Georgia where you reside. Generally, 1986 and newer year model vehicles require a Georgia certificate of title.
County Tax Commissioners' Offices in this state have varying rules for new residents. Most require a new resident to appear in person at their office with the following:
- Show your valid Georgia driver's license or state-issued identification card when applying in-person.
- A completed MV-1 tag and title application in the vehicle owner's full legal name and signed.
- Original valid out-of-state title; manufacturer's statement of origin; or a registration from a non-title state, if your vehicle is a 1986 or newer year model vehicle currently registered in a state or country that does not issue titles for this type and/or year model vehicle, must be submitted.
- A completed and signed T-22B Certification of Inspection form must accompany an application for registration of a vehicle that is not eligible for a Georgia title, i.e. A 1963–1985 model year vehicle. This form is also required with applications for Georgia title for 1986 and newer year model vehicles that are supported by a registration from a non-title state or country.
- Your vehicle must be covered with Georgia liability insurance before it can be legally operated in this state and before a tag can be issued, renewed, replaced or transferred.
- Submit proof that your vehicle has passed an emission's inspection when required for your vehicle in your county of residence.
- Pay all fees and applicable taxes with cash, check, or money order payable to the Office of the Tax Commissioner.
*Uninsured Motorist coverages can be rejected.