Iowa Car Insurance
Auto Insurance Coverage in IA—The Basics
Whether you're driving through Iowa on I-80 or I-35, your drive is likely to be accompanied by rows of corn on all sides. Natives, however, know that Iowa is more than the food capital of the world. From the vibrant college town of Iowa City to the diversity of Des Moines (often voted one of the best US cities for business), the state is a leader in literature, biotechnology, and even insurance. Like any other state, it's vital to protect yourself and your vehicle with the proper auto insurance. You can get an Iowa car insurance quote online with GEICO anytime.
Learn More About Auto Insurance Coverage in Iowa
Iowa has specific requirements for car insurance that must be in place on all vehicles to be legally driven in the state. These are the minimum levels of coverages and limits required by the state of Iowa:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $20,000 minimum per person, $40,000 minimum per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $15,000 minimum
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $20,000 minimum per person, $40,000 minimum per accident*
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $20,000 minimum per person, $40,000 minimum per accident*
* Please note that Iowa allows drivers to reject uninsured and underinsured coverages by returning a form to your insurance company. A GEICO representative can assist you with this decision.
Iowa Teen Driving
Like many states, Iowa now uses a graduated driver's licensing program to ensure that teens receive proper training. There are three stages in Iowa's driver training program: the learner's permit, the intermediate license, and the full license.
Teens can first receive an instruction permit at age 14 with written consent of a parent or guardian. Teens will be asked to complete a vision test and written test prior to receiving the permit. Permit holders may drive only with a parent/guardian, immediate family member older than 21, driver education teacher, or driver older than 25 with written permission of parent/guardian. Teens must hold this permit for at least 12 months and complete at least 20 hours of supervised driving, two of which must be at night.
Eligibility for the intermediate license begins at age 16. Teens should complete an Iowa-approved driver's education course and have a clean driving record for at least six consecutive months prior to applying. The intermediate license allows teens to drive unsupervised between 5:00 AM and 12:30 AM. This license must be held for at least twelve months, and ten hours of supervised driving are required, with at least two being at night.
Teens can receive a full license at age 17 if all conditions of the intermediate license have been met. Note that moving violations or at-fault accidents for drivers under age 18 may lead to remedial restrictions including passenger limits, night-driving limits, or suspension of driving privileges.
Iowa Registration Information
Iowa law requires you to register your motor vehicle with the county treasurer's office in your county within 30 days from the date you establish residency. Iowa registration is required even though your license plates may still be valid in another state.
The following documents are required to be surrendered to the county treasurer's office:
- Your current ownership document (certificate of title).
- A completed application for an Iowa certificate of title and/or registration. The application must be signed by all owners. If there is a lien against the vehicle, it should be noted on the application.