Rhode Island Car Insurance
Auto Insurance Quotes in Rhode Island
Rhode Island drivers can turn to GEICO for affordable rates and excellent customer service on their RI car insurance policy. From a wide range of available discounts to great extras like roadside assistance, new Rhode Island residents can count on GEICO. Our fast and free online quote process can tell you how much you could save on Rhode Island auto insurance in just a few easy steps.
Everyone knows Rhode Island as the smallest state in the U.S., but it happens to have the longest name of any state. In fact, its official name is The State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. Before you take a day trip along the coast, visit Rhode Island's prestigious universities, or make a quick stop in Newport for some chowder, you'll need auto insurance. Fortunately, you can get a Rhode Island car insurance quote with GEICO anytime.
Common Facts About Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Take a look at these Rhode Island car insurance laws and make sure you have everything you need before a cruise along I-95.
Car insurance in Rhode Island is mandatory. You can't register a vehicle without it, and the state requires you to sign a statement that you'll maintain consistent auto insurance coverage throughout the entire registration period. Failure to show proof of auto insurance in Rhode Island when asked by police could result in a $500 fine and a suspension of your license for three months.
Minimum Coverage Requirements for Rhode Island Car Insurance
Here are the required minimum auto insurance coverages and limits in the state of Rhode Island:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage: $25,000 per accident*
*You may reject the Uninsured motorist property damage coverage. A GEICO insurance agent can explain your policy options when reviewing your Rhode Island car insurance quote.
Rhode Island Auto Insurance Discounts
Along with great rates, GEICO has a number of discounts that could save you money. Check out some of the discounts that may be available on your Rhode Island auto insurance policy.
Rhode Island Teen Driver Laws
There are three different stages Rhode Island teens must go through during driving instruction: limited instructional permit, limited provisional license, and full operator license.
Rhode Island teens may get a limited instructional permit at 16. New drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 must complete a mandatory 33-hour driver's education course before testing for the permit. Once the teen obtains the permit, they may drive under the supervision of a licensed driver. The permit is valid for one year or until the driver turns 18. When the teen completes six months of supervised driving without an infraction, and 50 hours (at least 10 at night) of practice, they may apply for a limited provisional license.
Once a teen has a provisional license, they may drive at any time of day if accompanied by a supervising driver. Teens with a limited provisional license may drive unsupervised between the hours of 5:00 AM and 1:00 AM. The limited provisional license will expire when the driver turns 18. At that point, a teen may apply for a full operator license as long as they have held a limited provisional license for at least a year.
Rhode Island Registration Information
How Do You Register Your Vehicle in Rhode Island?
To register your vehicle in Rhode Island, you need to complete and sign an Application for Registration and Title (TR-1).
- If there is a lien against the vehicle, please make sure the lienholder information is complete and accurate, including lienholder name and address.
- After verifying all information, sign the TR-1 application. You may have the form notarized yourself, or with proper identification such as your RI license, the DMV clerks can notarize for you.
- Along with the completed TR-1 application, you must submit the following documents:
- A Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (new vehicles only). Or, the previous owner's title, if a titled vehicle (ten years and newer)and a bill of sale , OR
- The bill of sale, if a non-titled vehicle and proof of ownership (such as old title, copy of the previous registration or copy of tax bill) from the person who sold you the vehicle.
- If you do not have proof of ownership from the previous owner, you can obtain the registration record from the DMV's Pawtucket branch for a fee of $10.00.
- If presenting the Certificate of Origin or the previous owner's title, be sure the date sold, the odometer reading and the purchase price have been completed on the back. The dealer or the previous owner(s) and you must sign the back of either of these forms.
- A 7% sales tax will be collected at this time based on the purchase price of the dealer sale.
- After completing the transaction, you will receive a registration certificate, new plates and expiration stickers. The title will be processed and mailed in approximately 90 days. If you have a loan on the vehicle, the title will be mailed directly to your lienholder.