South Carolina Car Insurance
Information About Auto Insurance in South Carolina
Residents of the Palmetto State might talk of the beautiful beaches and open air markets, but South Carolina is also home to more than five heritage driving tours that trace the state's centuries—a long cultural evolution. Of course, before you start your journey, you're going to need auto insurance in South Carolina. If you're caught without proof of car insurance, according to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SC DMV), it could mean suspension of your license and registration and fines up to $200. In fact, you can't register or renew registration on any vehicle in South Carolina without having auto insurance first. You can get a South Carolina auto insurance quote online.
Texting And Distracted Driving in South Carolina
There is no law to enforce distracted driving in the state. Texting while driving is prohibited in some cities and towns, including Columbia. Distracted driving is a serious problem and government estimates tell us distractions account for 3,000 to 5,000 deaths on U.S. roads each year. Remember, one text or call could wreck it all.
Minimum SC Car Insurance Coverage Requirements
Every driver with SC auto insurance must carry the required minimums on all registered vehicles:
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage: $25,000 per accident with a $200 deductible
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury*: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist property damage*: $25,000 per accident
*Note: Underinsured motorist coverages can be rejected
In addition to always carrying proof of insurance in case a law enforcement officer pulls you over, you must also provide SC auto insurance information when you apply for and renew your driver's license.
South Carolina Teen Driver Information and Restrictions
Young drivers in South Carolina may get a Class D beginner's permit when they reach 15 years of age, which allows them to drive from 6 AM to midnight. Drivers must be accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least one year of driving experience. From midnight to 6 AM, the permit driver can only operate a vehicle when accompanied in the front seat by a licensed parent or guardian.
Drivers with 180 days or more of permit driving can obtain a Conditional License after passing a vision and skills tests, which allows them to drive alone during daytime hours and with no more than two passengers under age 21. Otherwise, they must follow the same driving restriction times as permit holders. Teens become eligible for a regular driver's license at age 17.
South Carolina Registration Information
If you move to South Carolina from another state, you have 45 days to transfer your vehicle title and registration. You may apply for the title and registration by mail. The Form 400, Application for Certificate of Title/Registration, which must be completed, contains the proper mailing address for the department.
You must have the following to transfer your out-of-state vehicle title and registration:
- Your out-of-state vehicle title and registration. If there is a lien on your vehicle, you must bring the name and address of the company that holds the lien.
- Liability insurance information. You must provide the name of your automobile liability insurance company, not the name of the agent.
- Completed Form 400, Application for Certificate of Title/Registration. To complete the form, you must have your vehicle odometer mileage reading and any current lien information.
- A Power of Attorney is need if you lease your vehicle and the Title Application is signed by the registrant on behalf of the title holder.
- Paid Property Tax Receipt. Before you can register your vehicle in South Carolina, you must first pay the property taxes that are required in the county in which you reside.
- Acceptable identification for the SC DMV.
- Title and Registration Fees.
You may use a valid driver's license from your former state for up to 90 days. However, you must convert to a South Carolina driver's license before the end of the 90-day period. If your driver's license from your home state has expired, you must also pass the knowledge and road tests.
We're here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The quickest way to contact us is through our app or online. You can also chat for immediate help.
Check Out a New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com