Virginia Car Insurance
Auto Insurance Coverage in VA—What You Need To Know
Did you know that Virginia offers more than 20 unique license plates to its residents for purchase, and allows you to submit ideas and designs for new sponsorships? But, before buying your favorite team, university or special interest vanity plate, you first need auto insurance in Virginia. According to the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) the state requires car insurance on every vehicle registered by you, even if the vehicle is not working or being used.
Unique Driving Laws in Virginia—Use of Radar Detectors
When traveling in the state of Virginia, the use of a radar detector is strictly illegal. Virginia state law also allows police officers to fine you for its use and confiscate the device, even if the radar detector is turned off or non-functional.
Required Auto Insurance Coverage for Virginia Drivers
Make sure you have VA auto insurance before you attempt to register your vehicle, or you may be subject to a $500 fee.
It is illegal to drive a car in Virginia without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law:
- Bodily injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage: $20,000 per accident with a $200 deductible for hit-and-run accidents
You should keep your VA car insurance card in your car at all times. You may need it if you are stopped by a police officer.
Virginia Teen Driver Restrictions
Is your teen ready to get behind the wheel? Aside from being fully insured, there are restrictions you and your teen need to know about while driving in Virginia. Drivers may get a learner's permit when they reach 15 years and 6 months of age, and must be accompanied by a guardian or close relative who is 21 years of age or older, has a valid driver's license, and is seated in the front passenger seat. Drivers between age 16 years, 3 months and age 18 who have held a permit for nine months are allowed to drive without a licensed driver beside them. Drivers age 19 or older who have never held a driver's license in any state must hold a learner's permit for at least 30 days or show completion of a state-approved driver education program.
Any driver under age 18 who has been licensed for less than one year may carry only one passenger under age 18. Passenger restrictions do not apply to family members. Any driver under age 18 is restricted from using any cellular telephone or any other wireless telecommunications device while driving, regardless of whether such device is or is not hand-held, except for a driver emergency or when the vehicle is lawfully parked or stopped. All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
Virginia Registration Information
New to Virginia?
These steps will give you the information you need to drive on Virginia's highways.
- Apply for a Virginia driver's license
- Obtain a vehicle safety inspection sticker
- Meet Virginia's emissions inspection standards (your vehicle must meet Virginia's emissions standards when you register it)
- Meet Virginia's vehicle insurance requirements (your vehicle must be insured when you register it)
- Title your vehicle in Virginia (do this within 30 days of moving to Virginia)
- Register your vehicle and acquire license plates (do this within 30 days of moving to Virginia)
- Obtain a local sticker or decal from your locality (do this within 30 days of moving to Virginia)
We're here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The quickest way to contact us is through our app or online. You can also chat for immediate help.
Check Out a New Quote
You are about to leave geico.com